TUTORIAL: Add "INSERT" Option in CD Drive Context Menu !

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by Vishal Gupta, Sep 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    1. Download the attached file (download it from source link, if you can't download it here), extract it and copy the DLL file to "%windir%\System32" folder.

    2. Copy following code in notepad:

    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{02A07E80-EFA2-11D4-8306-A7EBD4C50C7C}]
    @="CDEject Context Menu Shell Extension"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{02A07E80-EFA2-11D4-8306-A7EBD4C50C7C}\InprocServer32]
    @="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\cdeject.dll"
    "ThreadingModel"="Apartment"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers\{02a07e80-efa2-11d4-8306-a7ebd4c50c7c}]
    @="{02a07e80-efa2-11d4-8306-a7ebd4c50c7c}"
    
    
    3. Save the file with any name but the extension must be .REG

    4.
    Now run the file, it'll ask your permission, accept it.

    5.
    Now you'll get an Insert option in the CD Drive context menu.

    Source: Add Insert Option in CD/DVD Drive Context Menu
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2008
  2. rakeshishere

    rakeshishere HELP AND SUPPORT

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wohhhhhaaaa ultimate ..i was the one who requested it
    will rep u for this..Plz i request the mods to make as the demo mod...He is really grt

    Damn i am gettin this msg "You must spread some Reputation around before giving it to Vishal Gupta again.".Sorry dude..wil rep u nxt time

    It workd 4 me very fine >>>>Bolo Vishal GUpta Ki JAyyyyyyy
    __________
    THis tut shud be added nst time in digit's mag..If they wont i feel DIGIT SUCKS
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2006
  3. OP
    OP
    Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    lol :D

    thnx a lot buddy, I'm happy that I could help u... :)
     
  4. rakeshishere

    rakeshishere HELP AND SUPPORT

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    watz da name of that utility u got it with the chip-cd..Jst wanna know it
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    The name is same as the DLL file, "CD Eject".
     
  6. rakeshishere

    rakeshishere HELP AND SUPPORT

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jst hopd if there was a "THANKS" Button in this forum..I could have seen the number of it :)
     
  7. rollcage

    rollcage AMD user for 9 yrs!!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Vishal Gupta Ki Jayyyyyyy :D

    he he .. i was also looking for it .. thanx man

    @vishal .. just add the reg file too in the attachment
     
  8. rakeshishere

    rakeshishere HELP AND SUPPORT

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dll file with the reg
     
  9. clmlbx

    clmlbx Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indore
    I Also Needed That But Now I Have Got It. But After Doing So Now I Have Two Eject Option In My Context Menu . 1 U Gave That Also Gives Me Insert Option But Other That I Was Having It But Only For Eject. So Now I Want Remove That My Previous Option . So Pls Help Me How To Do It. And Pls Help Me How To Change Or Edit Context Menu (right Click) Options .
     
  10. Apollo

    Apollo "Technologic"

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai, Maharashtra, India, India
    Fantabulous, Vishal! Another great tutorial! :D

    <opens and closes his DVD drive at the click of a mouse button several times just for the heck of it> :D
     
  11. aadipa

    aadipa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palghar, Mumbai
    Nice hack.

    But does it work correctly when I have more than one trays open?
     
  12. ~Phenom~

    ~Phenom~ The No.1 Stupid

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CYBERYARD
    great work vishal.
    U rock man.
     
  13. Saket Parekh

    Saket Parekh New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good Stuff vishal................. gr8 job done
     
  14. hemant_mathur

    hemant_mathur -- No Easter Eggs here --

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Front of my pc
    Great work man ... damn cool.
    Hey not able to rep you .. getting same error msg as Rakeshishere got.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    :( neway the error doesnt matter, these words of urs really mean for me. Each letter of ur words is like a diamond for me :D

    Though u can Rate the thread, if u like any thread! :)

    thnx again all of u guys! :)
     
  16. rollcage

    rollcage AMD user for 9 yrs!!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    @Vishal Cant we have eject/insert as combine(single) item in menu
     
  17. OP
    OP
    Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    Actually the work is being done by the DLL file itself.
    If u want to change the working, then u'll hv to decompile the DLL file, change its coding and then recompile it again :)

    PS: If u see more carefully, then when we hv some CD in the drive, the "Insert" option is automatically changed to "Eject".
     
    ashu888ashu888 likes this.
  18. rollcage

    rollcage AMD user for 9 yrs!!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    right now i am on ibm laptop .. and it has no use on it. :(
    have to go by push method only
    will try latter on desk
     
  19. rakeshishere

    rakeshishere HELP AND SUPPORT

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    THnx 4 telling that..Me Knew ;)that but u reminded us:D
     
  20. prasad_den

    prasad_den New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The new cherry..!!
    @vishal - Its not working dude..!! :( :( :( I've followed all the steps, but still I see no change even after a system restart.. I've also tried the file that rakeshishere has attached.. Still no effect.. :( Any idea..?? I have a P4 2.4 GHz with intal 845 MoBo and WinXP SP2..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page