Troublesome Style XP

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by Maverick340, Sep 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Maverick340

    Maverick340 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :twisted: :evil:
    I installed Style Xp and changed the logon screen and boot screen ..i unistalled style xp later on as it ate up too much memory
    Now all my themes are deleted and the during the boot up the Os choice menue comes up which is very buging and also i wanned to change the logon screen to the Default
    Any Answers............???? :idea:
     
  2. aadipa

    aadipa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palghar, Mumbai
    change wallpaper, else afterwards.......
     
  3. amitsaudy

    amitsaudy New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    All these applications r nothin but a waste of time
    n resources.
    For me style xp is outaa style.
    Cmon dont bother bout the interface it doesnt matter
    N im sure ull learn this with time.
    What matters is the productivity ?
    Infact i strongly reccomend the windows classic theme n color schemes n etc.The new XP interface is nothing but a memory n cpu hog.
    Old is gold.
     
  4. amitsaudy

    amitsaudy New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Try using some simple windows tweaking software
    like tweakUI or system mechanic or norton to reset
    the changes to the setup defaults
    Or even reinstalling windows should do the trick.
     
  5. whistler

    whistler New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Up, Above the world, So HIGH !!
    hey wait...reinstalling every time is not the solution...
    by the time i get u the solution...d/l this utility for now..
    resource hacker..
    and wait..
    i will be right back
     
  6. JAK

    JAK What the Heck !

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ask Me !
    Just install StyleXp again...and copy the contents of the folder "#:\WINDOWS\Resources" to any other location say D:\temp..
    Now uninstall stylexp and then copy contents D:\temp back to "#:\WINDOWS\Resources"
    Download the uxtheme patcher(Google it) and patch ur uxtheme.dll file
    After patchin uxtheme.dll Reboot.. Goto Display properties --> themes and change the themes or download more from
    www.themxp.org and install them...

    well for that edit ur boot.ini file (C:\boot.ini) and under the [operating systems] <----look for this
    keep only this line "multi(0)*anything*\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP..." *anything*/fastdetect

    Hopefully u dont need to dual boot...Another easier way out is simply set the
    timeout=0 in the boot.ini file
     
  7. amitsaudy

    amitsaudy New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Agreed
    Reinstalling is not the solution everytime
    there are simpler ways to do it if you know how.
    But
    What has resource hacker got to do with his query??????????????
     
  8. whistler

    whistler New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Up, Above the world, So HIGH !!
    resource hacker will make the real boot screen work again..
    as for the dual entry in boot.ini..just follow what jak has said..
     
  9. whistler

    whistler New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Up, Above the world, So HIGH !!
  10. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    for ur multiboot option
    its just that style xp inserts an extra line ....
    one will boot with ur chosen screen
    the other with the default one in case of any problems
    when u reinstall style xp as i_w_m said ... just goto the boot screen option
    and restore ur boot.ini file .. as the button clearly states ... that should be it ..
    after that u could go for i_w_m's solution .. if this doesnt work
     
  11. amitsaudy

    amitsaudy New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    :!: Oh!
    :D Now i get what ya mean
    :) Resource hacker is quite a handy utility indeed.
    :?: But isnt this solution complicated for a fresher.
    :?: :?:
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Maverick340

    Maverick340 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Evrythings Back to normal exept my themes.they are all mismatched
    the icons,boot screen and logon screen are bk to normal
    thanx guys!
    PLS do sumtin bout my themes
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Maverick340

    Maverick340 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Evrythings Back to normal exept my themes.they are all mismatched
    the icons,boot screen and logon screen are bk to normal
    thanx guys!
    PLS do sumtin bout my themes
     
  14. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    well u can just reinstall ur theme from ur display properties !
     
  15. adithyagenius

    adithyagenius I WANT MORE FPS!!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Shifted to Hydreabad from Mumbai
    One more thing style xp 2.0 is incompatible with sp2.
     
  16. JAK

    JAK What the Heck !

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ask Me !
    Style Xp 2.14 onwards is compatible...any version below 2.14 wont work... :wink:
     
  17. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Which post ..?
     
  18. JAK

    JAK What the Heck !

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ask Me !
    He is refering to my post..... :wink:

    I think theraven gets confused between u n me ..batt's.... :wink:
     
  19. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    oops
    sorry abt that :D
     
  20. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page