Total Newbie for LINUX:Plzzzzz help me out guys

Status
Not open for further replies.

rakeshishere

HELP AND SUPPORT
Well after so much reading posts about praises of linux in this forum and elsewhere i thought of why not seeing and trying this out...because i jst love seeing and checking new s/w,os,games etc...So i had many diff version of linux cd with me like fedora,ubuntu ,knoppix...But knew these were huge and as i am addicted[u can say stuck up] with windows..I nvr knew:D how to intall linux even nor even know how to operate..:confused:.Seeing so many diff versions which came with my digit/chip : cd/dvd ..First of all didnt know what to install and what not and then I saw this DSL: Damn small linux.. in one of the cds and read its review on the internet and thought that would be the perfect choice for me to see how linux is ...So i read a lot of instructions regarding its install and so much that me i almost spent some 3 hrs to know all the basics regardiing linux and then burnt the iso of DSL on the cd and booted from it.I used this as the choice as it was only 50MB and was happy with this. After the install seeing the desktop and some nice features in it i couldnt understand some of the terms and some words like"GRUB,LILO,ramdrive"and more that me cant mention it in here .
I JUST want to know few things..How to install DSL in HDD and watz the diff b/w DSL and others{fedora core,suse e.t.c} ..and how to get an create an internet connection in linux [me want to use internet -thats it]

Presently i have winxp-sp2 installed on my comp in my c:\ drive and will installation of linux harm my xp or create any booting problems...i hope all open source fans will help me in understanding me this new world and after me knowing something will switch from xp to linux dfntly as i feel its gud to be in a healthy growing linux community

mehulved

18 Till I Die............