!!! Torrent Download Problem

Discussion in 'Internet & WWW' started by Dipen01, Apr 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dipen01

    Dipen01 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    Hey there..

    I am facing a wierd problem since a day. Whenever i click on any torrent to download it. It shows the below message..Am confused?

    What might be the problem!! In Bwtorrents its working fine and also some like Torrentspy and Mininova are working good...

    But some like Demonoid and Bitme.org are showing me errors.. Am posting abridged version of these errors...

    Pls let me know what might be the problem....

    Is it the browser - Opera (Unlikely coz i downloaded some from same sites before a day... but still thought might confirm)

    or my O.S - Win 98 (Even this is unlikely)


    Regards,
    Dipen





     
  2. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    It is the problem with the mime type the sites are sending. They are sending the torrent files as text/plain instead of application/x-bittorrent. Opera is acting according to the mime type it gets and is showing you the contents of the torrent file just as it would do with a text file.

    You can right click on the torrent download link and choose "Save as.." or whatever the opera equivalent is for saving the links. It will then allow you to save the file as .torrent.
     
  3. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Right click the link and click on "save target as". That will work.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Dipen01

    Dipen01 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    Hey...

    thanx a lot... :) its working good that way...


    Regards,
    Dipen
     
  5. Darthvader

    Darthvader Back From Deathstar

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rome 233 B.C
    But the NEwer version of Opera has a built in bit torrent client so it should directly start dling in opera itself. For other clients Right clik-save as
     
  6. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    AFAIK only Opera TP supports in-built bittorrent client and not the stable 8.xx series.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Dipen01

    Dipen01 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    What about the review.... i mean is it better than utorrent or Azureues...!! coz am thinking of switching over to... Opera BTC
     
  8. manas

    manas Wandering in the zone ...

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Opera BTC is just a rudimentary client with minimal features.You are better off using utorrent if u want more features.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Dipen01

    Dipen01 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    Ohk....btw just d/ed Azureus..

    Well it tored apart my machine's memory at first... (PIII 64SD RAM) but then it was bit easy...havent tried any torrents on it yet..coz some are queued in utorrent..

    Anyways...any idea whats the difference between UDP and HTTP.. I was to choose one of these for dowloading torrent from Demonoid...

    Which one is better..or both are equal..??

    Regards,
    Dipen
     
  10. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Whoa! Using Azeurus at 64??? o_O it takes 64 MB usage here :(
     
  11. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Dipen don't even think of using Azureus for ur PC. And opera bt client is still in a very nascent stage so it's not too worth trying out right now. Maybe final release of Opera 9 will have a bt client with better features.
     
  12. dIgItaL_BrAt

    dIgItaL_BrAt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    with 64 MB RAM,u better stick with BitComet/uTorrent.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Dipen01

    Dipen01 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    :(:(

    Uninstalled it in 5 mins.. Damn

    1. It hanged Opera and so Opera --> Not Responding.

    2. Screwed Winamp

    3. After several lags and freezing when i started a download...it showed everything as fine but didnt start the download. Then i noticed that theres one Red dot in the bottom pane which said

    Firewall/NAT Problem

    Hell i said..dont need this shit

    So straight away Uninstall :p . Well even tried Bittornado,dunno it never works properly. Properly in the sense either the speed is too less or it doesnt start the leeching itself...

    So Utorrent as of now :p

    Btw one more doubt.. Does Leeching more than 1 torrent at a time reduces overall speed of torrents..??


    Regards,
    Dipen
     
  14. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Anyone with < 256MB RAM and a slow CPU should not even touch Azureus forget about installing. It will kill a system with such kind of limited resources.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Dipen01

    Dipen01 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    Well heard it 100 times b4...but was curious...as much hullabo is made that Azureus is this..Azureus is that....It is fast...Hasf fails are very less..and so on...

    So thought lets experience it..:p... for last time..
     
  16. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    And I hope it is really the last time with this computer.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    Dipen01

    Dipen01 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    Yeh rite..Until i get new rig (hoping after results ;) )
     
  18. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    All that hullaboo is true...its just sad that you can't try it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page