This is very seious--a trojan horse!!!!

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by GeekyBoy, Jul 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GeekyBoy

    GeekyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Guys

    This is very very serious-it was actually my mistake.I recently upgraded my computer and had to install windows xp fresh on it.I had installed all the applications (including antivirus) but I forgot to install a firewall.The first few days I surfed the net without any virus invading my pc.But after a couple of days later,my internet connection disconnected abruptly and would not connect again(I have a dial up).I entered the network connections folder and I saw there was a new connection created(which of course I hadn't!)named "New Dialup Connection" which tried to dial a certain number.I made Norton Antivirus do a scan of my whole system and it found a dialer(named "Dialer.Kotu").It removed the dialer but a few days later suddenly a norton antivirus dialog box appeared saying it found a virus called "Trojan Horse" and they found it in "C:\Documents and Settings\GeekyBoy\Local Settings\Temp" and the filename was "win283.tmp.exe".When I clicked on ok,it said it could not repair the file and quarantined it.After that whenever I search the net it shows the same virus in the same folder,but the filename is differently genereted.Also Norton Antivirus sometimes shows that I am infected by "Dialer.Trojan" virus.The viruses "Dialer.Kotu" and "Trojan Horse" reappear even when norton says it has removed the virus.How can I remove these viruses?This is very critical--please help.
     
  2. Venom

    Venom New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. OP
    OP
    GeekyBoy

    GeekyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
  4. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2006
  5. OP
    OP
    GeekyBoy

    GeekyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    I 've removed this Dialer.Trojan but I can't remove the "Trojan Horse" virus.It infects files which are randomly generated in the folder which I told in my post.I has mostly extentions of ".tmp.exe",".tmp " and ".exe"

    I've already had them updated
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2006
  6. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
    Try doing an online scan through other AV companies such as Trend Micro

    Arun
     
  7. killerinstinct2

    killerinstinct2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey use online fsecure scanner......it is seurely kill u r virus program which is running through system files.........folder
     
  8. dhan_shh

    dhan_shh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chennai,India
    You can try 'Trojan Hunter' or 'Trojan Remover',trial versions are available: h**p://www.misec.net/ or h**p://www.simplysup.com/.

    This page may be of help:
    h**p://www.firewallguide.com/anti-trojan.htm
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2006
  9. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    first download and use ccleaner to clear ur temp files and other pc junk.
    www.ccleaner.com

    since u have identified the location of the malware, u can always use 'delete doctor' to delete the sticky fellow. www.diskcleaners.com

    then enter SAFE MODE and scan ur pc with a good av and anti-spy.

    it all fails, pls post ur hijackthis logfile here or at www.hijackthis.de for scrutiny.

    incidentally ewido is a good freeware trojan/malware remover.
     
  10. Garbage

    Garbage God of Mistakes...

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune, Maharashtra
    If u don't mind, let me suggest a solution for this.

    Acc/to my opinion Norton is NOT good. U can use QuickHeal 8.0 for this. It also repaires the viruses.

    & afterword download ZoneAlarm Firewall from www.zonelabs.com & install it. It removes the spywares & Dialers also.....
     
  11. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    First of all before connecting to the Net,install ZoneAlarm firewall. It's the best firewall.
    It can monitor what program connects to the Net, if the program looks suspicious,
    deny it Net access. Also you a antispyware like SpyBot, it can prevent registry changes,
    browser hijacking, spywares etc., Use FireFox or Opera browser. Since lots of
    these spyware use IE to connect to the Net, so if you give permission to IE to
    connect to the Net, your System will be compromised!! So don't use Internet Explorer.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    GeekyBoy

    GeekyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    I have installed ZoneAlarm but still the viruses do not go away...
     
  13. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    a zonealarm firewall may block virii entry, but will not make an already inside virus go away. an anti-virus, a firewall, an anti-spy, each have difrnt functions.best to have all 3 'on' ven online, else use an internet security suite like zass.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    GeekyBoy

    GeekyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Can everyone give me a more detailed advice?What advice I get from you guys is not enough.I suppose formatting the system will do enough to remove the viruses.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2006
  15. Pathik

    Pathik Google Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,747
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yup formatting ll remove it but u ll lose all ur data...
    better scan with a antivirus and delete all infected files....
     
  16. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well....formatting is the easiest option..but.....try removing it....
    use ad-ware/cc cleaner or some utility....
    Also turn off system restore....
     
  17. Garbage

    Garbage God of Mistakes...

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune, Maharashtra
    hey!!!!! ZoneAlarm is FIREWALL, and NOT Antivirus.......

    :-(
     
  18. OP
    OP
    GeekyBoy

    GeekyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    I know ZoneAlarm is a firewall:mad:
    I had just tried to log into safe mode and scan and remove the viruses but windows refused to boot into safe mode.This may be caused by the virus.I took the easy step-backuped my data and formatted!Although the backup took a lot of time,it was worth it.
     
  19. k_blues24

    k_blues24 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thane
    first boot ur system in a safe mode and then try to scan the system with AV
    u can use AV like Avast it should be updated & AV like AntiVir version 6 updated. Try Any of these AV (or both one after another but don't setup a any two of them simultaneously it may causes to system unstable problem.).
    I recomonded AntiVir ver.6. Hope for best.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page