There are security hole/s in my PC

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by sude, Mar 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sude

    sude Tech'ing life seriously!!

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tech City - Bengaluru
    Hi diGit Forum users,

    I have a PC having XP with SP2
    and NOT HAVING ANY INTERNET CONNECTION.
    recently i installed "SpyBot-Search and Destroy 1.4" and ran a scan. After the scan it showed me 5 Entries on "DSO Exploit". Clicking on the Entry it showed me the following details:
    -----------------------
    Company: Microsoft
    Product: Internet Explorer
    Threat: Security hole

    Company URL:
    http://www.microsoft.com/
    Company product URL:
    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/
    Company privacy URL:
    http://www.microsoft.com/info/privacy.htm

    Description
    There's a security hole in IE allowing websites to execute code without asking you first. You can find more information at http://security.greymagic.com/adv/gm001-ie/
    -------------------------

    What should i do in order to "repair" current 'Security Holes' and future such problems. I have no internet connection at home. But still after couple of days after the previous scan again these 'DSO Exploit' appears. PLEASE HELP...

    -SUDE
    <>You will never gain out of nothing, so try something.<>
     
  2. ilugd

    ilugd Beware of the innocent

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what is the OS? If it is xp then use the autopatcher xp in the digit cds to install the necessary patches and updates.

    Don't know about 98 though.
     
  3. ::vicky::

    ::vicky:: New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    0X4B7H
    i think u dont have sp2 if u r using xp then upgrade ur xp t sp2
     
  4. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    Better use Mozilla Firefox 1.5 with Adblock & script
    blocking extensions and lot more.It's more secure
    than IE and it loads faster.
     
  5. RCuber

    RCuber The Mighty Unkel!!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ಬೆಂಗಳೂರು (Bengaluru)
    How can i test if my systems has any security holes? any website/tools available to do this?
     
  6. planetcall

    planetcall Indian by heart

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    FF rules!! Why using IE. It is notorious for its holes.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    sude

    sude Tech'ing life seriously!!

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tech City - Bengaluru
    [edited]
     
  8. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    i think dso exploit was a problem which was solved aftr sp2. so jst chk if u have sp2. if u dont, best to install it and update with autropatcherxp.

    to repair current security holes try these :

    replace ur hosts file, with a 'good' hosts file,
    add ie-spyads to ur restricted zone, etc...

    here are some additional holes which you can plug up, to boost your
    security & privacy, and reduce threats. use these preventive measures:

    disable windows potentially annoying, built-in spam receiving
    Messenger Services (not to be mixed up with msn msngr)

    disable 'Universal Plug-n-Play", windows potentially exploitable
    networking capability, which can expose your computer to internet
    attacks.

    disable the very powerful DCOM system, allows pieces of your computer
    to be remotely activated across the Internet. (does not affext sp2 users)
    it is always enabled in Windows systems by default. use the GRC DCOMbobulator.

    freeware utilities assissting the above, and more, can be downloaded
    from http://grc.com/freepopular.htm

    u may like to disable several other of the other of these services:

    MediaPlayer automatic updates, player identification. sending usage/
    error reports to microsoft,
    disabling ie6 authentication,
    disabling officexp error reports,
    disabling certain services,
    disabling msn messenger,
    disabling remote desktop/registry support
    etc, etc.

    all these and some more very interesting preventive measures & options
    are availble in these excellent utilities

    XP-AntiSpy
    click http://xp-antispy.org/component/option,com_remository/Itemid,26/

    SafeXP
    click http://www.theorica.net/safexp.htm

    Xpy
    click http://nsis.whyeye.org/

    'The Computer Security Tool
    http://www.computersecuritytool.com/

    charangk : u can try system mechanic 6 or any of the above utilities
     
  9. Vyasram

    Vyasram The pWnster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Karaikudi,TN
    yeah try to hack ur own system frm another system , if u succeed then, there is a security hole
     
  10. RCuber

    RCuber The Mighty Unkel!!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ಬೆಂಗಳೂರು (Bengaluru)
    Thanks a lot. you really opend my eyes. now from today onwards i will learn how to hack day and night with out sleep. and when i successfully learn to hack. then I will try to find if my system has any security holes from any other computer. after this i will hack the into the "Bugs Bunny's" Computers and change his name to "The most idotic moron in the world".

    thanks
    happy hacking.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    sude

    sude Tech'ing life seriously!!

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tech City - Bengaluru
    i have mentioned that i do have SP2 installed...

    -SUDE
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page