The Elder Scrolls IV OBLIVION

Discussion in 'Gamerz' started by Third Eye, Jul 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Third Eye

    Third Eye gooby pls

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not very far from you
    I have just bought DVD edition of OBLIVION ,but it has killed my XFX 6600 GT 256 MB.i got 15-20 fps in morning time(means in game) and in night i got 4-5 fps.Can anyone tell me which card OBLIVION wants ?
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2007
  2. Darthvader

    Darthvader Back From Deathstar

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rome 233 B.C
    dude what settings are u running it in?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Third Eye

    Third Eye gooby pls

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not very far from you
    In medium settings @ 1024X768 Resolution.
     
  4. vmp_vivek

    vmp_vivek New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    City 17
    Try to reduce the quality settings to Low, then your 6600 GT will be able to give you atleast 40-60 FPS, depending upon your other hardware, e.g. RAM, Processor, etc.
     
  5. Stalker

    Stalker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    closer than u think..
    try lowering ur resolution.....running oblivion at 1024 will be very stressful for ur gfx card
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Third Eye

    Third Eye gooby pls

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not very far from you
    even at the low settings the game dosn't run 2 smooth.
     
  7. tarey_g

    tarey_g Hanging, since 2004..

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,360
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hanging..
    yeah , u have to play on 800x600 , 1024 is not for that card , i play on 800x600 HDR on ,high settings(texture med) on my 6600gt. yet to do some tweaking . www.tweakguides.com
     
  8. magnet

    magnet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dude who told u to try oblivion on 6600gt.......its the worst coding game done ....told by 1 of a frnd......

    u need above 7800gt graphic card to make it run smooth....i guess the 512mb gtx cards.........
     
  9. blackleopard92

    blackleopard92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    u mad.it's got supreme graphics, not crappy coding.
    If u have eveer seen videos or played it to max, u would notice the quality.

    one more thing to note is the fact that there are many assest the game has to load to create the world, hence u require 1GB of ram to make it run smoothly.

    also, Harddisks on RAID 0 can give really smooth performance.
     
  10. tarey_g

    tarey_g Hanging, since 2004..

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,360
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hanging..

    I think the graphics are not at the level to demand such high requirements ,the gamebryo engine is demanding and they have done many bad things to cover up the performance issues . If u have really played the game then u can notice the game has some ugly low detail textures and even on the highest details it looks bad. This is the reason some gamers have released some better hi res texture packs(not recommended for mid range card users). The engine feels unfinished and even if it looks good, still the hardware requirements are not justfied . Oblivion even brings xbox360 on its knees in the outdoors , its not shame on the hardware its shame on the engine which kills hardware which can run better looking games than Oblivion . If u google many gamers have the same opinion abt oblivion , many bashed by oblivion fanboys.

    The game is good , anyone who plays will really enjoy. Some will have to do with low frames and stuttering.

    My config :
    P4 2.4 Northwood
    MSI 865P Neo Motherboard
    1 GB RAM
    80 GB HDD
    XFX 6600gt 128 MB DDR3
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2006
  11. Darthvader

    Darthvader Back From Deathstar

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rome 233 B.C
    If You really dont care about the graphics and want smooth gameplay
    then get oldoblivion
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Third Eye

    Third Eye gooby pls

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not very far from you
    i feel like i have onboard graphics while playing oblivion.
     
  13. tarey_g

    tarey_g Hanging, since 2004..

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,360
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hanging..
    oldblivion enables u to play oblivion on older cards that dont support new shaders.
     
  14. goobimama

    goobimama  Macboy

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,482
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goa
    I wonder how it will run on my iMac Core Duo with a ATi x1600 graphics card...
     
  15. Stalker

    Stalker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    closer than u think..
    hey, is there anything like oldoblivion for F.E.A.R.? something like oldfear which will make it run faster??
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2006
  16. Darthvader

    Darthvader Back From Deathstar

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rome 233 B.C
    Unfortunately There is no such thing. Maybe you can create one!!!
     
  17. Stalker

    Stalker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    closer than u think..
    @Darthvader
    Tweak: go to the user directory,
    C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Documents\Monolith Productions\FEAR (user directory on my comp)
    Run fear (from desktop)...(goto the main menu), then alt-tab out of it, open the settings.cfg file,
    change the BitDepth from '32' to 16 or 24, alt-tab back into the game & wallah FEAR will run much faster ..........all textures are at 16-bit depth

    after doing this don't enter the options page, as it will revert the setting back to 32. but there ia a significant perf boost in 16-bit mode

    btw.......does anyone think oblivion will work on my FX 5200 128 mb??
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2006
  18. abhi_10_20

    abhi_10_20 Cool and Calm

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    See my specs:
    ATI Raedon X300SE with 128MB Video RAM
    256 MB physical RAM
    still the game runs smoothly and this should be enough.
     
  19. OP
    OP
    Third Eye

    Third Eye gooby pls

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not very far from you
    i think i have to patch up the game.how far did you go abhi
     
  20. Rollercoaster

    Rollercoaster -The BlacKCoaT Operative-

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun, India
    i will be trying it soon. my *DVD* is on its way...

    i also have a 6600GT... boy i just bought it a few months back and already it is low end for new games. jeez..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page