Tally - Help Installing

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by talrejaharish, Oct 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. talrejaharish

    talrejaharish New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this is the error i get when i try to install Tally

    [​IMG]

    im using WIN XP SP2

    i was using Norton AV 2003 pro earlier

    now using Kaspersky Personal


    plz reply asap

    thnx
     
  2. OP
    OP
    talrejaharish

    talrejaharish New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry ... took the wrong link by mistake

    this is the actuall error

    plz check this

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Sourabh

    Sourabh Laptoping

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,206
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    wht version??

    whts the version of tally u using
    btw TALLY 5.4 is not compatible with winxp
    it runs in educational mode
    theres no link between TALLY n AV
    and if u use tally 6.3 then it shld work in XP
    also is ur copy of tally legal??
    i have a legal Multi user edition of tally 5.4 brot for 18 k four years back
    n mine doesnt work in winxp
    have contacted them a lotta time b4 but they say it has compatibility issue


    FINALLY TEMME UR VERSION I'LL TELL U WHT TO DO U NEED TO INSTALL IT AGAIN N CHANGE THE TALLY INI FILE LOCATION URL
     
  4. cooljeba

    cooljeba The Photoshop Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Your monitor!
    tell the version u using m8

    ..:: peace ::..
    Jeba
     
  5. imgame

    imgame New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what version of tally u r using talrejaharish.....?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    talrejaharish

    talrejaharish New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    havent installed it ever before

    tats wat it is on my frenz Win 98 SE

    coz he said it doesnt work on his XP either


    tally 6.3.1

    any solutions for the same ??? as i hav only Win XP
     
  7. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Contact Tally Help. If it is a pirated version, I would strongly recommend buying a authenticated version. Don't risk losing your accounts. They are far too valuable.

    Just FYI, one of my clients used a pirated Tally version. He was supposed to have his accounts audited and file Income Tax returns before 31st Oct. or pay a penalty of Rs. 100,000/-. Now his data files are all corrupt and hardly anytime is left. :( He may have to sit and re-enter full data in no time and also get them audited or run a hugh penalty risk. All this to save a sum of Rs. 10,000/- In March Tally 6.3 was available for Rs. 5,000/-!!
     
  8. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Nope Harish ... Norton Antivirus is causing the problem again .. It isnt uninstalled properly ...
     
  9. OP
    OP
    talrejaharish

    talrejaharish New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So wat do i do to uninstall norton properly ???

    downloaded som fix from Nortons site for Rnav removal

    it supposedly removed all data ... but its not good enough as all the shared files r still there
     
  10. cooljeba

    cooljeba The Photoshop Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Your monitor!
    try cleaning your registry with regcleaner and if u have norotrn utilities try fix windows problems that will cleap up a lotta left over files.

    ..:: peace ::..
    Jeba
     
  11. xenkatesh

    xenkatesh Bewitched!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    upgrade to the newer version. first clean ur pc registry with AD-AWARE .then install!
     
  12. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Check out these links for removing Norton AntiVirus 2004 after Add/Remove fails. I think the steps would be similar for NAV 2003 Pro.

    Win XP
    Win 98/ME

    Be careful, it tells you to edit registry entires.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    talrejaharish

    talrejaharish New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i tried the link
    tried Registry Mechanic and one more registry CLeaner (forgot the name)

    but cant solve the problem yet !!!

    and now im unable to install Adobe Premiere 6 also

    hey {batty} i think last time u made some registry for me which solved the problem ... can u do sumthin again !!! [/b]
     
  14. OP
    OP
    talrejaharish

    talrejaharish New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey one more thing ...

    i had installed Norton Utilities 2003 n somehow it was not uninstallin

    n now the folder n program files is also not there
    n when i try to reintsall from the same cd

    it says ...
    a similar version is runnin on ur system

    But in add remove i cant uninstall it

    can anyone help now ??? :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?:
     
  15. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Check out the links that I have given you. It gives steps to completely uninstall NAV even when Add/Remove fails. That will help you to remove all traces of it from your machine.

    Secondly, download TweakUI (for Win98) or PowerToys (for WinXP). It will let you repair your Add/Remove list. May be after that you will be able to uninstall it.
     
  16. visvo

    visvo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    nagpur
    well well well i m running tally 5.4 from my win xp ...it is possible to run and work on tally 5.4 in win xp and havent found any problem yet?why did u guys have ti don't know but it does work in xP
     
  17. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Tally 5.4 may work because it is a windows based version. Tally 4.5 will not work because its a DOS based version :)
     
  18. OP
    OP
    talrejaharish

    talrejaharish New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey

    my problem solved !!! :D :D :D

    I got a solution from Microsoft Knowledge Database but i cudnt understand it !! needed editing of registry.

    Batty helped me and edited my registry to remove the specified Virtual Device Driver !!!
    from the registry ...

    rebooted and it works now

    as for Tally installation

    i got a zipped file from my frend ... wich on double clickin extracts itself to C:program Files ....
    and then u can get the shortcut on ur desktop and run Tally 5.4 from there on Win XP

    so no need to install it .. jus copy paste the folder and it works :!: :!:



    and Batty thnx a lot for Solving the problem

    and evryone else :
    :D :D

    for trying to help me out

    now i don need to format my drive and reinstall windows

    so that post also is a waste now :wink:

    so now my Adobe Preimere 6.0 and Tally 5.4 both work fine on Windows XP !!
     
  19. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    :D Glad to know things are working to your satisfaction now. But don't offer to give Tally 5.4 to others. You are violating forum rules :roll:

    Anyway, I am a legal Tally user ;)
     
  20. OP
    OP
    talrejaharish

    talrejaharish New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry tuxfan and digit ...

    dint know bout tat ...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page