1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

System too slow!!!!!

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by prankie, Feb 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. prankie

    prankie D PrankMaster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhopal | Pune
    Please help guys!!!
    I have AMD sempron 2500+ 64bit, having 256MB RAM and 80GB sata HDD.. the system is hardly 1 month old and it has became tad slow..
    I've tried defragging, used ADAWARE, spybot s&d, did complete virus scan still no good... :(
    Even winamp takes 10-15seconds to start... 70% of hdd apace is free..
    what could be the reason.
    plz help.. I am using windows xp professional SP2.....
     
  2. susk21

    susk21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    are check again if you have trojan and remove it if you find one.
    CTRL+ALT+DELETE
    go into processes and see any fishy process!!
    you know the las option:
    as you have 70% space free then you can backup your data and FORMAT the drive in which you have windows!!
     
  3. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav Guest

    incrse your RAM, check that do u have anything on startup running, as that will slow your boot time

    do a full disk check, that might help
     
  4. mayurs85

    mayurs85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dude, tat is a Good Config u hav.
    Do 1 thing download a Software Named ccleaner and also 1 more thing
    Do not Install Themes it Eats UP ur Ram
    Right Click on My Computer--Advanced Tab--PERFORMANCE cLICK sETTINGS--iN D viSUAL sETTINGS cLICK ON aDJUST 4 bEST pERFORMANCE-aND cLICK OK
    It Wud make ur PC look like an Win 98 OS and den see if ur PC Works or Not. and if dis Still doesnt Work msg me On mayurs85@gmail.com.
     
  5. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Running WinXP Pro with SP2 with just 256MB RAM ... specially with many processes and services on the background can reasonably slow down the pc .... try disabling non essential services and processes rarely used ....
     
  6. OP
    OP
    prankie

    prankie D PrankMaster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhopal | Pune
    does running too many games slow down the computer???
    the problem started aftr installing NFS Underground and UT2004.....
     
  7. Gunner

    Gunner New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere you'll never have heard of...
    No, the problem is not due to games. Primarily, the problem arises due to the installation of too many softwares that open up on startup (i.e. when the system starts up). I suggest you try disabling the startup of unwanted software when the system is opened. That should speed things up considerably. Incase it is still low, you might have to upgrade your RAM to 512 MB atleast.
     
  8. RCuber

    RCuber The Mighty Unkel!!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ಬೆಂಗಳೂರು (Bengaluru)
    Have you installed all the nessary drivers? What firewall do you have? There is a Issue with some older Zonealarm firewall. I have noticed the speed difference in my PC which is a P4 520.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    prankie

    prankie D PrankMaster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhopal | Pune
    i've installed all neccesary drivers...
    i am using windows xp sp2 default firewall., and there is only yahoo messeng, soundman and mcafee antvir at startup.
     
  10. gsrajawat

    gsrajawat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    friend i think u must test this.
    1. run disc defragementer
    2. run Disc clean up
    3. Update ur antivirus and run full system scan
    4. Update windows from microsft site.
    5. Uninstall unnessary programs
    6. Try symantec corporate 9 antivirus
    bye
    gsrajawat@gmail.com
     
  11. Gunner

    Gunner New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere you'll never have heard of...
    Same to that.
    1. Defragment your discs.

    And have you checked wether your PC runs any faster if any games that you might have installed are uninstalled ? I suggest you try it.
     
  12. susk21

    susk21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "mcafee antvir"

    man, i think mcafee antivirus is your problem. try installing new antivirus like NOD 32 or Norton!!
     
  13. debiprasad_sahoo

    debiprasad_sahoo Web Junky 2.0

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai, Cuttack
    Start run command window. Type msconfig there and change the options according to your need.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    prankie

    prankie D PrankMaster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhopal | Pune
    K, will do...
    One more question. has file system anything to do with speed????
    I mean that all my partitions are FAT32.. should i change it to NTFS??
    Will it help???
     
  15. vrnoormd

    vrnoormd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vellore
    Yes u can convert your partitions to NTFS

    i think it helps u.
     
  16. dada_patekar

    dada_patekar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Guess Where I Live ?
    hi dada ka

    arey yahin to bill gates aur uska company galti kar gaya, oS to dey diya par jitna install karo utna slow ho jata hain. tu diskeeper 10 try kar,system mechanic,bekaar ki services rok de,hoon sake to increase ur ram to 512 mb.
     
  17. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
  18. Ankur Gupta

    Ankur Gupta Wandering in time...

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    Hey buddy dont u think installing norton will further slow down his PC as it uses a whole lotta resources.
    I think he shud stick to Mcafee.
     
  19. piyush gupta

    piyush gupta New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    never land
    Hey buddy scan ur pc using System Mechanic

    at

    www.iolo.com
     
  20. mvishnu

    mvishnu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Manipal
    That's right... That soft. has worked wonders on my PC. Clean ur reg. and ur startup... Should help.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page