System got in trouble after installing Windows XP SP 2

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by yesh_1683, Sep 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yesh_1683

    yesh_1683 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hello every one

    i just reformatted my PC and installed windows XP professional edition on my P4, 256 MB ram, 845 board system,after installing windows and all graphic drivers and some necessary softwares i installed SP1 which didnt give me any problem,,,after 2 days i installed SP2 [final] the instalation went smoothly and also installed Sp2 successfully....and i restarted my PC as when prompted,,,everything is fine but my sytem became very slow,,
    for example before installing SP2 i installed some ram saver it was showing some 170 mb of free ram on my system,,but after installing it shows only something around below 50 MB of ram,,,i was surprised to that how could it eat that much of resourses ,,,,,,

    and also after installing sp2 the login screen doesnt show WINDOWS XP PROFESSIONAL EDITION it shows Only as WINDOWS XP how could it forget professional edition

    please some one help me to put sense in my sytem
    thanking u all
     
  2. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Please post your HijackThis Logfile for better assesment of your problem.


    And for the second query, It seems that Microsoft have for some weird reason have made that change .. You can find what edition you run by checking the color of the progress bar that displays while booting up .. Its blue for Professional and Green for Home edition ...
     
  3. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    - had trouble with xp sp2 updating all the drivers from its cab instead of leaving the original drivers for motherboard , graphics etc .

    - u can try to reinstall all the drivers for all devices including motherboard and stuff . try removing unwanted graphics / animation / drive index .

    - what was the software u installed with xp sp1 ? reinstall ur antivirus , norton has issues with sp2 . u can check microsoft website for apps that cause problems with sp2 .

    - i think u can revert to ur original logon screen by extracting a file from original cd . havent tried , is it worth changing anyway .

    - r y using ntfs or fat32 ? analyz and defrag ur disk . if u have firewall program already disable the one within xp . good time to increase ur ram too
     
  4. silverTwins

    silverTwins New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Deep Hot Hell!!!!Whew Its Hot Here!!!
    win xp sp2 has conflict issues with over 200 proggies which include even ms office!!!!!!!!

    also it has a lot of default settings turned on which can drastically reduce ur systems free mem and slow down ur box!!!!!!!

    as for now sp2 is not that imp acc to me!!!!!!!
     
  5. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    SP2 is very important from the security point of view
    it plugs up almost holes in windows ... its quite a must have ...
     
  6. rajat22

    rajat22 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere at Kolkata
    Do the basics, Clean all garbage files, reinstall IDE drivers if your system is running in PIO mode (Check it under system--hardware--device manager--IDE ATP/ATAPI CONTROLLER--Property), Tune up starters at msconfig and defrag with any 3rd party defrag manager and let me know.
     
  7. [deXter]

    [deXter] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Thats not the proper way of installing SP2. If you want the best performance from SP2/XP, then create a slipstreamed XP + SP2 CD and install XP freshly (after a format of course). This way, you wont have to install sp1/2 seperately, you wont have any compatibility problems, plus XP+SP2 (slipstreamed) is 5% faster than the original XP. If you want to create your own XP+Sp2 slipstreamed cd, then download nLite from http://nuhi.msfn.org


    [​IMG]
     
  8. FunkyB

    FunkyB New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    in the twilight zone...
    hey dexter...plz tell me something too...i chkd the site and it says that i need Framework before i can use nLite...i chkd (as it says) in my add/remove programs list but there was no mention...i use WinXP Pro SP1 and updated totally...also which version shud i download...there is a STABLE and a NEWEST...??? thanx...
     
  9. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    .Net Framework Redist can be found in Digit DVD ..
     
  10. FunkyB

    FunkyB New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    in the twilight zone...
    i dont hav a DVD drive :( where can i download it from...?
     
  11. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
  12. mahendran

    mahendran Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Thottakad,Kottayam,Kerala
    extra cd drive

    thanks, i could solve the issue by you advice
     
  13. jpushkarh

    jpushkarh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes Win XP + SP 2 fresh installation is faster than
    WinXP or Win XP+ sp1
     
  14. casanova

    casanova The Frozen Nova

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Trespasser in Virtual Land
    sp2 is a little slow as it has much of the features enabled but it should not give problems after the booting process has finished.
    you can also integrate sp2 using the following command line parameter. steps to be followed. Copt the winXP CD to a folder say e:\winxp
    suppose ur sp2 is in e:\xpsp2
    just type the following line in thr un dialog
    e:\xpsp2\sp2.exe -s:e:\winxp
     
  15. Tech&ME

    Tech&ME Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Hello! Mr. it_waaznt_me and others, I have also installed Windows XP SP2 and it works fine on my Windows XP Home Edition. The only thing that i noted is the boot up screen shows only Windows XP and the Home Edition line is removed, and the progress bar has been turned to BLUE colour, so how do you distinguish which OS version u are running???? Or is there a way to get back the line "Home Edition" on the bootup screen ???
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page