SVCHOST.EXE causes CPU usage to ~95% after con to Internet through DATA CABL

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by ramanandji, Aug 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ramanandji

    ramanandji New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Friends,
    SVCHOST.EXE causes CPU usage to 95-97% after connecting to Internet through DATA CABLE.

    Description:
    I have WINDOWS XP SP2 and Mobile Handset LG M4410 with Data Cable and a GPRS service from Airtel India. When I connect to Internet through data cable using the above mobile as modem, gets connected to net successfully. When I try to open any site just for a minute the data is downloaded and immediately CPU usage goes up to ~95%.And no more data transfer happens and CPU Fan makes lot of noise indicating heavy load. The computer almost hangs thereafter. Unless I disconnect datacable manually computer will not come to normal state.

    I have observed the following things using PROCESS EXPLORER from systeminternals.com:

    [1] It is svchost.exe which eats up CPU time. This file has lot services attached to it. I tried disabling all of them except RasMan.exe(Remote Access Connection Manager). Still the problem is seen, so I conclude that problem due to this service only.

    [2] I have observed the threads also. This particular thread "kernel32.dll!CreateThread+0x27" causes lot of context switches. The
    "CSwitchDelta" oscillates between 150-200.

    [3]This thread only eats 95% of CPU.

    [4]No virus as far as I know. Because after formatting and reloading of XP also I obeserved the same problem.

    [5]There is no problem if connect to Internet through bluetooth, I have browsed for hours but CPU usage never jumped to 95%. Only if connected through data cable it the problem is seen.

    [6]I believe this problem is with LG Data Cable only, as I used Nokia3220 and
    Nokia6610i as modems and CA-42 serial cable to connect to Internet and browsed for hours but CPU usage never jumped to those levels(~95%).Stack for this thread:

    (a)
    When connected to Internet and after CPU usage jumps to 95%:
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    ntkrnlpa.exe!KiDispatchInterrupt+0x7f
    ntkrnlpa.exe!KeReleaseInStackQueuedSpinLockFromDpcLevel+0xaab
    ntdll.dll!KiFastSystemCallRet
    tapisrv.dll+0x181ed
    tapisrv.dll+0x18ba4
    tapisrv.dll+0x2055e
    RPCRT4.dll!CheckVerificationTrailer+0x75
    RPCRT4.dll!NdrStubCall2+0x215
    RPCRT4.dll!NdrServerCall2+0x19
    RPCRT4.dll!NdrGetTypeFlags+0x1c9
    RPCRT4.dll!NdrGetTypeFlags+0x12e
    RPCRT4.dll!NdrGetTypeFlags+0x5a
    RPCRT4.dll!NdrConformantArrayFree+0x42e
    RPCRT4.dll!NdrConformantArrayFree+0x28b
    RPCRT4.dll!I_RpcBCacheFree+0x14c
    RPCRT4.dll!I_RpcBCacheFree+0x5ea
    RPCRT4.dll!I_RpcBCacheFree+0x403
    RPCRT4.dll!I_RpcBCacheFree+0x5d2
    kernel32.dll!GetModuleFileNameA+0x1b4

    (b)
    After disconnection by removing datacable CPU usage comes down to 1-3%
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    ntkrnlpa.exe!KiUnexpectedInterrupt+0xf0
    ntkrnlpa.exe!NtConnectPort+0x1cc8
    ntkrnlpa.exe!NtConnectPort+0x1efc
    ntkrnlpa.exe!KeReleaseInStackQueuedSpinLockFromDpcLevel+0xb14
    ntdll.dll!KiFastSystemCallRet
    shsvcs.dll+0x18217
    shsvcs.dll+0x17b33
    svchost.exe+0x11cc
    ADVAPI32.dll!CryptVerifySignatureW+0x29
    kernel32.dll!GetModuleFileNameA+0x1b4


    Can somebody help me what shall I do to rectify this problem?
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2006
  2. Cool Surfer

    Cool Surfer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Internet
    Which antivirus and firewall software are you using ?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    ramanandji

    ramanandji New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,
    I use Zone Labs security software, v. 6.5 which includes anti-virus and firewall as well.

    thanks
    ramanandji
     
  4. summit.nayak

    summit.nayak NOT a Fresh Stock

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Zone labs has these processess
    so maybe this is due to zonelabs
    try some other antivirus and firewall
    i had the same prob before
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page