Still photo from movie ?

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by imprince, Dec 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. imprince

    imprince New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ludhiana
    would anybody like to tell me any software from i can take a still photo from movie (.dat)
     
  2. swatkat

    swatkat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Shimoga/ಶಿವಮೊಗ್ಗ
    Use PowerDVD or XingMPEG Player to take snapshot from the video files.
     
  3. Nemesis

    Nemesis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    if u use XP and have windows movie maker installed, u can use it 2 capture screenshots
     
  4. indrajit

    indrajit New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Pause the movie in full screen mode->press the print screen button->open Paint->paste the image->save it as .jpeg (or whatever extension you like).

    But the resolution might not be that good if do it by this process, give it a try and check for yourself!
     
  5. xenkatesh

    xenkatesh Bewitched!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    That cant be done :lol: it will shows only black screen i tries a lot before.... :roll:
     
  6. indrajit

    indrajit New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    What are you saying dude? I've done it a lot of times too! :roll:
     
  7. OP
    OP
    imprince

    imprince New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ludhiana
    it does't work man ... Think again and again thn do a practical before giving someone any example :twisted:
     
  8. ycr007

    ycr007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Still frame capture allows a user to capture a single frame of the movie, which cannot be achieved with the usual "Print-screen" key, as DVD players use a special overlay which cannot be captured normally. WinDVD's capture support is pretty limited - basically it will capture into a BMP file into the "capture" directory under WinDVD's installed directory once you press the capture hotkey or button. Unlike PowerDVD's implementation, you do not have the ability to capture to clipboard, instead of a file, nor do you have the ability to specify a location to store the captured file.
    Source:The digital digest

    WinDVD and PowerDVD have a snapshot option.You can specify the folder where captured images are to be stored and also specify the format in which the pic is to be stored.In WinDVD there is a "Camera" icon in the panel,click on it to capture the frame,alternatively u can use the hotkey assigned to this function,typically its "P" on ur keyboard......

    P.S:u can chk out http://www.solidcapture.com/screen_capture_dvd.htm
     
  9. Ethan_Hunt

    Ethan_Hunt New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5,219
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay, India
    Why not go for the Best Bs Player This will Capture Everything u Need From .Dat to .Avi Files.....JUst Google for it Mate..... :)

    @Indrajit Even i cant Get the image to paste in the way u suggested.....have done it a lotta times before but with the same blank screen reults.....same goes for the Screensavers.....I suppose Print Screen Does Not work For moving Images..... :D
     
  10. indrajit

    indrajit New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Ok, a little addition to my post, I did it in Win98 and it works. I had not tried this on XP before and today whin I did try it didn't work out. So, I guess it works with 98 only. Sorry if anyone was mislead by my post.
     
  11. kinshuksunil

    kinshuksunil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Try Nero ShowTime

    Hi All

    The complete Nero Ultra Edition includes the Nero VisionExpress 2 Pack which also includes, Nero ShowTime. This is a good video player esp. for DVDs and has an excellent screen capturing feature.

    BTW, PowerDVD is not bad either...

    Kinshuk
     
  12. OP
    OP
    imprince

    imprince New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ludhiana
    thnx friends for ur reply... everybody is talking about nero ultra edition ,,, i think i should try it ... thnx again :p
     
  13. krazydude

    krazydude New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Follow me and I shall set u free
    It does work, all u need to do is turn the hardware acceleration of your graphics card to ZERO and ya I have done this practically many times :lol: :lol:
     
  14. ax3

    ax3 Cool as a CUCUMBAR ! ! !

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,388
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    in which digit cd can i find WinDVD and PowerDVD ???

    r they freeware ???
     
  15. Nemesis

    Nemesis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    @ax3: they aint freeware...both of them r commercial software.....but u usually get 1 of them with DVD-ROM drives....
     
  16. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    It depends on the graphics card and not the OS. It depends on how display is handled. I have only used Win98 so far. But could take a screen shot with print screen on my P3 300 machine. But couldn't do so on my P3 550 machine. :)

    [quote="krazydude]It does work, all u need to do is turn the hardware acceleration of your graphics card to ZERO and ya I have done this practically many times[/quote]Are you sure? Wow!! Thats a great tip. I think I will try that out and see if it works.
     
  17. cheetah

    cheetah New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vice City
    Use PowerDVD or if u have corel suite.U can use Corel Capture.
     
  18. whoopy_whale

    whoopy_whale New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bermuda Triangle
    Use Jiao system's VCDCutter.That's the simplest way to extract a still frame from a movie.You can extract the image as jpg or bmp.
     
  19. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Hmmm.. You can use the Capture option in BSPlayer .. great software ...
     
  20. JaX

    JaX New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Use ULead Video Studio for all your video requirements...
    Do things you've only dreamt of before.... :lol:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page