Standby Gone. My dear

Status
Not open for further replies.

sourav

In the zone
:arrow: :arrow: :arrow: I'm a Windows Xp Pro, Windows 98 SE and Mandrake 10.1 (came with digit) user. I don't Standby option in Win XP. It is not available. Though in 98 I can go to standby. I have this disability from when I had only Win Xp on a 10 GB hard disc until now where I have 3 OS with 2 hard disc sum 60 GB. Help!

vignesh

Wise Old Owl
go to control panel -> performance & maintenance-> power options and in that go to advanced tab and choose standby in when i press by power button then when you press your shutdown button in the cpu your system goes into standby mode.

Tech&ME

Banned
sourav said:
But I want to be available in Turn Off Button

Yes u can bring the Stand By option in the Turn off Button dialog box, simply follow this steps.

1. Take out your Motherboard CD which came with your Motherboard.

2. Place this CD in the CD -Rom drive, CD should start automatically and show you installation options.

3. Hit the EXPRESS INSTALL button and then follow the instructions on your screen, accept all EULA and answer the questions asked (if any)
Installation will take some time to finish, do not disturb the installation process.

4. Let your computer re-start after the installation is complete.

5. Now, u will be able to see the option STAND BY activated.

NOTE : However, u are only required to install the Chipset Installation Utility from the motherboard CD to enable Stand By option., but you can also install other useful utilities and updates from this CD.

OP
sourav

sourav

In the zone
ok I'm going to kill myself because I have lost my MOBO CD. But I have the latest chipset installation. But whenever I install in Win XP it gives me the OS has the utility installed.

himtuna

Journeyman
try this
go to control panel
click user accounts
click change the way user log off or logon
then enable welcome screen and fast switching

Tech&ME

Banned
sourav said: