Spyware???????

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by indrajit, Sep 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. indrajit

    indrajit New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Hi to all. I’m having two separate problems with spyware. I’m using Windows XP Professional with SP 2 installed; I use Zone alarm for firewall and AVG 7 as antivirus. A few of my cousins use my PC for net surfing. Recently I noticed an extra button on my IE toolbar – CrackSpider.net. When clicked it connects to that site. I’ve SpyBot 1.3 installed but it has failed to track it down. Is there any way of uninstalling it from my system manually?
    Secondly, every time I run SpyBot to scan my system it detects certain DSO Exploits and some Download Accelerator ads. When I try to fix them it says all the problems could not be fixed and asks to schedule a scan at next startup; but nothing helps. The next time I run SpyBot, the same set of problems are back again. This keeps repeating every time I run SpyBot 1.3. I’ve tried using the older versions but they don’t detect those problems. I’m providing a copy of the log file of SpyBot below. Any idea how these can be fixed? :(


    DSO Exploit: Data source object exploit (Registry change, nothing done)
    HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-18\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones\0\1004!=W=3

    DSO Exploit: Data source object exploit (Registry change, nothing done)
    HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1844237615-1604221776-725345543-1003\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones\0\1004!=W=3

    DSO Exploit: Data source object exploit (Registry change, nothing done)
    HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-20\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones\0\1004!=W=3

    DSO Exploit: Data source object exploit (Registry change, nothing done)
    HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-19\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones\0\1004!=W=3

    DSO Exploit: Data source object exploit (Registry change, nothing done)
    HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones\0\1004!=W=3

    Download Accelerator Plus ads: Default ad category (Registry change, nothing done)
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SpeedBit\Download Accelerator\ADSDefaultCategory=Default

    Download Accelerator Plus ads: Ad category (Registry key, nothing done)
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SpeedBit\Download Accelerator\ADSUpdates

    Download Accelerator Plus ads: Ad category (Registry key, nothing done)
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SpeedBit\Download Accelerator\ADSProxy

    Download Accelerator Plus ads: Ad category (Registry key, nothing done)
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SpeedBit\Download Accelerator\ADSNoTrigger

    Download Accelerator Plus ads: Ad category (Registry key, nothing done)
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SpeedBit\Download Accelerator\ADSFileList

    Download Accelerator Plus ads: Ad category (Registry key, nothing done)
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SpeedBit\Download Accelerator\ADSCategory

    Download Accelerator Plus ads: Ad category (Registry key, nothing done)
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SpeedBit\Download Accelerator\ADSADS
     
  2. lywyre

    lywyre Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chennai/Vellore, TN
    Spyware with SP2 installed. DAMN M$!
     
  3. cooljeba

    cooljeba The Photoshop Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Your monitor!
  4. mariner

    mariner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    mate it looks like u clicked some button at the crackspider web site. thats the reason for that extra button on ur tool bar.
    download ad aware se 1.05 from www.lavasoftusa.com.
    download spywareblaster and spywareguard from www.javacoolsoftware.com

    this is a lethal combination.

    and also
    change over to firefox or opera. u will forget IE 6.0
     
  5. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Those are caused by a bug in Spybot Snd .. As long as the Zone Id =3 , you can ignore it ...

    And if you run Download Accelerator, (its adware) you can ignore it from the list as it will download those ad files next time you go online .. So you can safely ignore them ..Its not spying ....
     
  6. [deXter]

    [deXter] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Other than the usual suite of SpywareBlaster, SpyBot, Ad-Aware, etc, you can try the following things

    1) IE-Toolbar Manager:

    This program should help you in removing any buttons in IE that you wish. You may even add your own buttons to the ie toolbar, or even customize the context menu

    http://www.one.com.ua/ietool/download/ietoolm.exe

    2) Autoruns

    Get the autoruns program from sysinternals. This program has almost all the know startup locations of your comp, and displays a comprehensive list of all the startup programs. Just disable anything that looks suspicious ;)

    www.sysinternals.com/ntw2k/freeware/autoruns.shtml
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page