1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Sony DW-G120A Problem!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by Metalkid, May 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Metalkid

    Metalkid New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I bought Sony dw-g120A dvd burner
    but i was not able to read ne media so i replaced it n now again in this i m facin the same problem.

    i searched the forum n came to kno bot the firmware i tried mys3 , myr3
    both r givin same prob n in mys3 dos it says "NO divice found"

    n win walla upgrade shows
    unable to flash firmware plz contact ur vendor.


    so awat is the prob with my rom
    n in nere info tool der no serial no. n date for my rom

    here r snapshot
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2006
  2. kundra.nitin

    kundra.nitin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you shouldnt be having any trouble READING media with any of those firmwares(i've tried them all)
    if its new, you could ask for replacement

    MY problem is that i cant write to BenQ +rw dvds
    any solutions?
     
  3. teknoPhobia

    teknoPhobia t3h g04t

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AnKH Morpork/Tsort
    Have you checked your drive cable? Have you checked whether any other DVD Drive manages to read any media on your PC? Did you try to use the DOS version in XP itself or using a boot disc?
     
  4. digiFriend

    digiFriend New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    check which parallel cable you are using. if you use old ATA 40 wires cable,it won't work.
    you have to use "ULTRA DMA/66" 80 wires cable.
    both wires will have same 40 pins connector, but in ultra DMA cable ,the wire will be very thin and there will be 80 wires, while in OLD ATA cable wires will be thick and total 40 wires.
    "ultra ata " 80 wire cable will cost around 30/40 Rs.

    2)check that ULTRA DMA support is enabled in BIOS(it depend upon your system bios)
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2006
  5. jack// ani

    jack// ani New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    c'mon dude....this is not a problem anyway!!! probably there is some other trouble....like master/slave jumper setting. for me the same drive...work fine on 40 and 80 wire cable as well.....
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Metalkid

    Metalkid New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok
    i donot kno wat was the prob

    but i removed my second dvd rom
    n kept only writer on cable select (ata40)

    before it was like writer on master n dvd rom on slave on ata 40


    now it is workin fine
    burned bot 6 dvds

    all fine.


    y can't i use both the drive 2gether
     
  7. teknoPhobia

    teknoPhobia t3h g04t

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AnKH Morpork/Tsort
    Then see if putting both the drives to cable select works for you, and try changing the cable, it does make a difference
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page