some HDD and RAM questions.....

Status
Not open for further replies.

saiko

Right off the assembly line
hi!
i would like to know some basic question about RAM and HDD.....

Is Hynix ram good? ppl say though its the cheapest possible option available but its not a good quality one...
which is the best ram avaialable in india?

Are all current of HDD have SATA or its only available in some higher-priced ones?
Which is the best HDD ?

the questions might be funny....but its been 2 years i bought my last computer and i didn't have any connact with the computer hardware market since then.... now everything seems really different!

regards....
saiko

shwetanshu

Cyborg Agent
Most ppl dont recommend HYNIX. i think currently TRANSCEND is considered best, then is KINGSTON.

Sata Drives r costly but i dont know much about them. But watever u do, dont buy SAMSUNG. For me SEAGATE is the best, i dont have any probs wid it till now, i have been using it for last 2 yrs.

drgrudge

Another Brick in the Wall
RAM: hynix is good, IMO.
256mb ram: Rs 1800 or so.

HDD: We can get ordinary one, even W/O SATA ones.
GEt maxtor diamond HDD, sata
rs. 4000 ,120GB, 7200 RPM
Rs. 7000, 250gb, 7200 RPM.

pimpom

Cyborg Agent
Transcend, Kingston, Crucial, Corsair are considered to be the top brands for RAM. But Hynix is cheaper and IMO very good too. I must have bought and installed hundreds of Hynix RAM sticks over the past several years, out of which one 128MB unit installed 2 1/2 years ago failed recently, and it's the only failure I've had so far.

PATA HDDs are easily available and are cheaper than SATA drives. At the moment, the advantage of SATA is mainly theoretical. You won't see any significant improvement in performance.

I use only Seagate HDDs. They are quiet, come with a 5-year warranty, and I've had only one failure out of those I installed myself. I've seen several Samsung drives fail. I've never used Maxtor drives but I've seen numerous reports of early failure of Maxtor drives.