soldering an AGP slot??

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by Stalker, Aug 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Stalker

    Stalker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    closer than u think..
    guys my friend has an HP desktop. his config is
    Celeron D 2.0 Ghz
    256 mb RAM
    intel 865 chipset.

    the warranty on the desktop has run out, so he wants to add an agp slot to the mobo. the motherboard has markings (a space with lined silver dots) wherin u it appears that he can fit an agp slot. ( there is 'agp' written on that space which has got the markings)

    can u just solder an AGP slot at that position???
    will it actually work or does he have to upgrade/change his BIOS??
     
  2. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thats a crazy thing to do. Yes you will have to update your bios to that one an AGP supporting one, but the risk/cost overall here exceeds that of a new motherboard itself :|
     
  3. RCuber

    RCuber The Mighty Unkel!!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ಬೆಂಗಳೂರು (Bengaluru)
    There are different versions of mobo's available , few with Gfx slot and few without it. some manufactrers remove the GFX part of the mobo to cutdown the cost.so the same mobo can be available with gfx and without gfx slot, they also remove the circuit required for the gfx slot; which will cut the cost. so if you mobo has the gfx slot missing then it will not have the circuit to drive the gfx part. so forget about soldering the slot. best option ---> buy a new mobo with gfx slot :p
     
  4. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, not really true. My old compaq 810 had a marker place for AGP too. But thats because it was made that way, they cant cut a hole in the middle for having no AGP slot can they? :p Y'maybe right.
     
  5. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    What they gonna cost for just soldering a slot onto a mobo. I dun think. There IS A price difference, so something would be missing.....
     
  6. go_gamez

    go_gamez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    navi mumbai
    in my opinion better buy a new mobo..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page