Softwares, Stable Versions vs Previous Versions

Discussion in 'Fight Club' started by Aberforth, Dec 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Aberforth

    Aberforth The Internationalist

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Samedan
    Thought to start this after a person commented on software upgrade claiming that software is 'stable'.

    After my experience with softwares since the last 5 years I have learnt a lesson - never update your software as soon as a new production/ stable version is released. I am not talking about BETA, RC, or whatever they call it, I am talking about stable production environment releases. I find bugs even in the so called stable releases, my experience with IPB 2.1.0, 2.1.1, 2.1.2 was a proof enough not to jump into the upgrade bandwagon as soon as a so called 'stable' release comes out. I think using the existing final version of the software and upgrading only when the softwares have been widely used and tried for about 3 months or so keeps us safe - especially in web environment as you can't just uninstall and revert to the old versions without thinking of the downtimes and loss of access to the site for users.
    Cases in example IPB release versions, vB release versions, Firefox 2.0.0.0 , iTune 7.0.

    What do you think, upgrade right away or wait?
     
  2. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
    Thats right! We should wait. People who have enough time to experiment can upgrade. NEways this is one of the main areas of Software Engineering i.e to trust ur software so that it can be used reliably and freely. Implementation of a new technology shud be done in a company or here a system only when the trust in that technology is very high and losses for implementation are marginal initially, but high profits subsequently! Neways there are more paramaters to it. I'll debate next time! :D
     
  3. ambandla

    ambandla Sup' dude, Sup'

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    bangalore
    @aberforth. Yes. A stable sofware doens't mean perfect execution or coding. A stable software contains lower number of bugs compared to alpha's, beta's, RC's. It's always better to wait, see if the new s/w is better than the existing version. update only if it is. Sometimes, the feature's of new release might take an upper hand over bug's in the new release. In such cases, we just can't sit there and wait for the bug's to be resolved.
     
  4. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    I for one even install alpha software on my PC.. I love the feeling :D
     
  5. ~Phenom~

    ~Phenom~ The No.1 Stupid

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CYBERYARD
    I upgrade to every new stable version of software on my system as soon as they r available.
     
  6. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
    I'm still on FC5, no updates, no upgrades, but only all new additional software installations.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Aberforth

    Aberforth The Internationalist

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Samedan
    How would you get Alpha softwares, unless you yourself coded them?
     
  8. ~Phenom~

    ~Phenom~ The No.1 Stupid

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CYBERYARD
    ^^ even i wanna know that ....
     
  9. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Im a registered beta tester for many companies (especially antivirus companies). So i get to test their applications MUCH before they are released to the general public. I get access to pre-beta and prototype code. And no im not kidding, some of the people working for these companies are very good friends of mine and are added on my messengers :D
     
  10. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Me being just a time-pass computer user with a few developments of my own, have no problems with software that breaks, I love it when it does that, so I can figure how and what things went wrong and fix it or see how the fix works for vice versa. If it breaks, its a software :p
     
  11. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
    There is a difference between alpha and beta testing! Neways what is pre-beta? Just asking coz I never heard it while studying software engineering or ever!
     
  12. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe he meant pre-public-beta. Or, as MS says, Internal Beta ?
     
  13. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    You are exposing yourself to some serious security risks. Just because you run Linux does not mean you don't need to install updates especially in the times when we have high-speed always on internet connections. This is not being brave...this is being...well..."not smart".
    __________
    Me no software engineer but Alpha may be? Pardon me if I am wrong :D
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2006
  14. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
    Absolutely korrect! :) But my 256 kbps is not so high speed after all! And I sit like 3 hrs on average on my PC, usually watch some downloaded cartoons, emails, programs and site surfing not much. I'm not so much addicted to PC. :D So this has nuthing to do with being "not smart", but basically being carefree. Neways the I have Ubuntu on my Lappy that I have set to automatic update mode coz its lightwieght and therefore small amount of softwares need to be updated unlike fedora. Hmmmm..... with mtnl 256 kbps plans being upgraded to 1mpbs, I think I will update fedora too then. :D

    Well software engineering specifies 3 types of testing
    1. Acceptance testing : where software is developed for a specific customer
    2. Alpha testing : conducted at developer'ss site by a customer in a controlled environment. i.e before giving out beta releases
    3. Beta testing : conducted by customer's/end-user's at their site. Well everybody knows about beta tests.

    Source : Software engineering by K.K aggarwal and Yogesh Singh
    Please google to find more on this if anyone wants to!

    So its not even alpha testing coz its conducted at devloper's site!! If its condcuted by other's i.e other devlopers and non-developers out of company, then its simply beta. No pre-beta !! :)
     
  15. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    No matter how long you use your system...updates should be made and 256kbps is high enough for us Indians :p

    If you don't want to install all the updates then just use security repositories and at least install updates related to security issues.
     
  16. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
    I know! :D But I have Mtnl Rs.590 night plan that gives some MBs during day (an obstacle) and unlimited during night and at night I download movies only!! :D Thats a different matter that I dont watch them.
    Neways I'll be upgrading to mtnl unlimited after some time, then I'll upgrade straight to FC6 I guess.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page