sify client installatioin for ubuntu

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by mkmkmk, May 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mkmkmk

    mkmkmk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    pune
    hi

    i m newbie here and what i know about linux is only installaiton of xandrox .ubuntu .fedora thats it only but with lot of efforts

    what i dont know is ..installation of software in linux.....

    i have received 5 cds of ubuntu and with too much curiosity and with quite efforts i did successful tcp/ip settings and sucessfully i got sify client from sify ip adress while using ubuntu but i dont know how to install that.....

    its name is......

    sify connet .bin .tar.gaz so pls tell me how to install this ........then only i will get access to net in ubuntu......

    so pls tell me step by step.........
     
  2. saurabh.sauron

    saurabh.sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    convert it to a debian package.

    sudo alien sify*.tar.gz

    then install the package :-

    sudo dpkg -i 'name of file created'.deb
     
  3. OP
    OP
    mkmkmk

    mkmkmk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    pune
    Thanks saurabh for reply.....

    will u pls tell me in detail how to convert to debian package.........

    or give me link with easy steps........

    still i m looking around google but getting very less things............

    expecting u r reply ....

    thanking u
     
  4. cryptid

    cryptid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    @mkmkmk
    Its not necessary for u too convert the file to .deb just download the file from the URL 202.144.xx.xx(it may be diffrent for u and me) and download the tar ball unzip the file and and check out the read me file its very simple and easy to understand, u can just copy and paste the commands from the read me file any ways i got a bad new even i am tryin to use the client in Linux but it says that the client i am using is of a old version and i should use a new version but when i contacted sify cc they told me that no new version of dialers were released for linux,,, the windows client version is 3.1( i guess) and the linux is v1. any ways if u are succesful in getting it to work help me out
     
  5. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
  6. saurabh.sauron

    saurabh.sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    first, install alien from synaptic package manager.

    then :-
    move to the directory where the file is saved.
    in terminal :-

    sudo alien filename.tar.gz

    a debian package will be created.

    install the package :-

    sudo dpgk -i 'filename'.deb
     
  7. OP
    OP
    mkmkmk

    mkmkmk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    pune
    Thanks cryptid .eddie

    i have tried lot after reading commands from read me but getting invalid command error messege

    i think i m missing some where........

    so just check images of read me file here........

    and tell me which commands i should type in terminal........

    http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/7052/read1yb.jpg

    here is pic of terminal window....

    http://img135.imageshack.us/img135/9379/terminalwindow3gu.jpg

    just type commands only so i will copy paste in terminal.........

    saurabh ,pls tke a look of this and type commands ,i m not getting u expert language

    thanks u too
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2006
  8. saurabh.sauron

    saurabh.sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    post the exact filename and i will post the screenshots of the commands of the terminal window.
     
  9. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    @mkmkmk you have to run this as root user. So, you will have to type
    Code:
    sudo ./install.sh
    to install the client.
    Code:
    sifyconnect -login
    IMO, it's better to use antidialer. It's good to minimise the use of root account as far as possible. Though there's a way to use sify dialer without root account too.
     
  10. cryptid

    cryptid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    This dosent work it says that i am using a old Clientdialer which is the version u are using???i think i have version 1.3 or some thing

    I got anti dialer but i am unable to use it it has a Makefile in it but i dunno how to install it will some 1 please help me with it.....
     
  11. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    You got version 1.2. Read the 'readme' file.
    For installing antidialer do as follows
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install mcrypt
    ./antidialer
    
    See if this works.
     
  12. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    I think u will not be able to use it with linux as sify has not updated their client
     
  13. OP
    OP
    mkmkmk

    mkmkmk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    pune
  14. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    did u try this on the new dialer too?
     
  15. ujjwal

    ujjwal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sify have not updated their Linux and Mac clients to support their new protocol, and as a result, in those areas where sify has stopped supporting the old clients, Linux and Mac users cannot connect using any official/unofficial client. Your best bet is to call the sify customer care, explain that you are a linux user, and cannot connect. They will (hopefully) enable the old protocol and allow you to use the client.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page