1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Shader Model 3 v Shader Model 2

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by sychomayniac, Apr 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sychomayniac

    sychomayniac New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I m in confusion i wanna know if i use ATI X800 GTO which has shader model 2 and i m using onboard shader model 3 mobo, so i wanna know will i able to use vista or any shader model 3 effects in the game.
     
  2. tarey_g

    tarey_g Hanging, since 2004..

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,360
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hanging..
    vista only needs sm 2.0, i dont know which onboard u have , but i think its certainly is not better than x800 GTO. Few games use sm3 features like splinter cell chaos th. and age of empires 3 . so u wud be missing some effects with a sm 2 card.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    sychomayniac

    sychomayniac New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I m using MSI K8NGM2 IL which has onboard 6100 SM3
     
  4. tarey_g

    tarey_g Hanging, since 2004..

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,360
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hanging..
    i suggest u go fo x800 gto . (crap crap crap , i had to write this as i am not allowed to post in less than 50 words, what the hell !!!, my orignal msg ended after the fullstop, and i think it was sufficient, huh)
     
  5. Ethan_Hunt

    Ethan_Hunt New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5,219
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay, India
    No problems whatsoever.Go with the X800GTO as it will have a larger bandwidth compared to that Pityful onboard which only boasts of the newer 6 series onboard implementation and can't give decent frame rates with latest games @1024x768 resolutions.If you are so skeptical with the X800GTO being SM 2.0 compliant then select the 6600GT which is almost on par with the X800GTO and is SM 3.0 compliant.Very few games like Splinter Cell Chaos Theory,Far Cry,Black and White 2 support SM 3.0 in their full glory.
     
  6. tiblu

    tiblu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree with allwyndlima go for 6600 Gt, it will cost u around 8000( not sure)
     
  7. Ankur Gupta

    Ankur Gupta Wandering in time...

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    well i too have the same board and have set the video memory size to 64MB and vista is running absolutely smoothly!
     
  8. Ankur Gupta

    Ankur Gupta Wandering in time...

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    well i too have the same board and have set the video memory size to 64MB and vista is running absolutely smoothly!
     
  9. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Vista requires shader model 2.0 with 64 MB of v ram.Games require more
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page