sending message if i know ip and port ???

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by nik_for_you, Jul 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nik_for_you

    nik_for_you New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Paris
    hi geeks !! I want to that whether i can send message to other computer if i know ip address and listenig port of other computer ??
     
  2. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^^ Listening port of what?? I mean what server is listening to that port? If u just wanna send messages to lan computers, just open command prompt and type "net send <I.P.> your message"
     
  3. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    for this u need to send him a file over 1 mb.when sending him a file
    click start
    run "cmd"
    type "netstat -a"
    now u'll get all ips connected to computer along with thier listning ports try find his but first save them all in text file


    regards,
    gary
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2006
  4. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^^ OK! Now we know you were really sleepy while writing that post! Hehe.. Just read it once!
    "for this u need to send him a file over 1 mb.when sending him a him" :p
     
  5. mayanksharma

    mayanksharma New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida/NCR
    hehe. lol. :D
     
  6. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    its was a typo now corrected
     
  7. OP
    OP
    nik_for_you

    nik_for_you New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Paris
    I know how to find port .. i just want to send message to other computer .

    net send is not working ..

    I know which port is opend on my friends comp . can i send message on that ??

    i know little socket programming and can it be help ful ??
     
  8. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    what error do u get when u use netsand??
     
  9. __Virus__

    __Virus__ New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    btw why do u want to send him messages only thru command prompt or netsend??
     
  10. Rollercoaster

    Rollercoaster -The BlacKCoaT Operative-

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun, India
    i tried sending a message using "net sent localhost hello" but it gives error

    i tried, 127.0.0.1,computer name, IP add etc but it gives error all the time
    "An error occurred while sending a message to 192.168.1.2.

    The message alias could not be found on the network.

    More help is available by typing NET HELPMSG 2273."

    only "net send * hello" works. but i dont see by who/how the message is recvd. nothing appears on the screen.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    nik_for_you

    nik_for_you New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Paris
    ^^ me too get same error..
    @virus : i want to send by command prompt
     
  12. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Thats maybe because you people have the messenger service disabled on the recieving machine, or a firewall is blocking it..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page