1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Sempron processor Fan -- always constant speed ?

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by dabster, Feb 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dabster

    dabster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the processor fan of my AMD sempron 2500+ is always running at a constant speed of 3443 rpm...when idle or even on full load...
    Since it is 2500+ it doesn't support CnQ technology.

    Is it a problem of motherboard or it is like this only... ?
    i am using gigabyte k8mv800 mobo.
    though Intels stock fans have speed control...does AMD provide this in semprons ???
     
  2. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav Guest

    there should be an option in Motherboard BIOS about speed offan, control, so that under low load, it slows the fan speed

    cool & quite has nothing to do directly with FAN, it just lowers the clock speed of CPU which in turn lowers the fan speed with fan speed control enabled in BIOS
     
  3. OP
    OP
    dabster

    dabster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope, there is no such option in bios setup...I have searched for it....
     
  4. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    I have got the same mobo but with athlon 64. And cool & quiet works for me. And as of urs if the processor doesn't supports C&Q then ur fan's speed will not change. 1st make sure that ur processor supports c&Q or not
     
  5. OP
    OP
    dabster

    dabster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My sempron 2500+ doesn't support CnQ, but that technology is for changing the cpu voltages...as gxsaurav said...and it has nothing to do with fan speed.
     
  6. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    No gxsaurav is wrong it has to do with the fan speed too
     
  7. Ankur Gupta

    Ankur Gupta Wandering in time...

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    Hey is 2500+ also available as ATHLON XP?????if yes is it 754 pin or 939 pin?
     
  8. OP
    OP
    dabster

    dabster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Athlon XP no longer available in market...
     
  9. OP
    OP
    dabster

    dabster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyways mine doesn't have this technology
     
  10. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
    if I remember correctly, sempron 64-bit processors below 3000+ do not support the cool and quiet technology. the cool and quiet technology is the one that senses the load on the processor and reduces its speed when it is lightly loaded...

    Arun
     
  11. ashnik

    ashnik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thane
    well i bought ssemp 2600+ 754 pin on friday. it supports CnQ..Asus k8v-mx mobo..
     
  12. OP
    OP
    dabster

    dabster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey,
    sempron 3000+ and higher only support this CnQ technology....
    I suppose that yr Mobo supports this technology
    but yr processor doesn't have the CnQ capability...

    Since my mobo doesn't support CnQ i am not bothered,
    Hey somebody answer my question :x , Are sempron fans made to work at constant speeds or there speeds may vary on load changes...

    the Intel normal PGA 478 processors with 845GV Mobo have capability to change the Processor fan speed depending on load.

    Is it so in AMD also or they they always run at constant speed ?
    What i am observing that it is always constant on my sempron 64 2500+ and Gigabyte k8mv800 mobo combi...

    --
     
  13. OP
    OP
    dabster

    dabster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have found out the reason for it....
    These Gigabyte guys are fooling everybody when they have compatibility issues why do they go on selling products saying that they are compatible.... :x

    See the FAQ...They say that the newer AMD E6 revision processors have different behaviour and the smart fan capability is disabled for such processors...

    Follow the link on their sites...
    http://tw.giga-byte.com/Support/Motherboard/FAQ_List.aspx?FAQID=4648
     
  14. darklord

    darklord New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune,India
    you can download a small tool called Speedfan.Using this tool you can reduce fan speed manually.

    Also the CPU Heatsink Fan is thermally controlled,its speed increases or decreases according to temperature changes for the CPU.
     
  15. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    This is what I feel corect.

    V.Prem Kumar
     
  16. OP
    OP
    dabster

    dabster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, The speedfan utility worked....But Was able to just half the fan speed using the configure window. How can the fan speed be varied dynamically according to the processor temperature....using the same utility...
     
  17. OP
    OP
    dabster

    dabster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, The speedfan utility worked....But Was able to just half the fan speed using the configure window. How can the fan speed be varied dynamically according to the processor temperature....using the same utility...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page