SATA Hard disk Appearing as Removable Hardware

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by ramakrishna.nalla, Aug 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ramakrishna.nalla

    ramakrishna.nalla New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi All


    Just have a quick view of my PC configration

    AMD 3000+ (939)
    GigaByte nForce 4 ChipSet Motherboard
    1GB RAM
    Segate 160GB SATA

    And my problem is:
    Recently I updated the nForce 4 chipset drivers, from that onwards my SATA hard disk appearing as "removable hardware" on system tray....How can i rid of this problem... Please help me

    Is it dangerous if click on "removable hardware" icon.

    I also seen this problem on my friend's new PC.
    Please help me
     
  2. suman2005

    suman2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I installed the nforce 6.86 drivers I first selected the IDE driver and I too got the Safely Remove Hardware icon in the systray. I reinstalled the nvidia 6.86 drivers and this time I did not select the nforce IDE drivers and this icon is not there any more.

    I dont know if there is any danger on clicking on this icon - did not have the courage to try it :)
     
  3. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    That is normal, actually SATA drives ARE hot pluggable, but ofcourse not when your OS is running from it :p And one advice.. Nvidia IDE drivers are CRAP, please dont install them.
     
  4. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    :D ... install the drivers manually :D .. i do it that way , no probs ..

    Also .. nVidia IDE drivers do increase my SATA II drives R/W speed , but hey ... 2 MB-10 MBps will hardly make differences ...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page