Samsung SP0411N

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by rajivs007, Nov 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rajivs007

    rajivs007 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi (Ashok Vihar)
    Samsung SP0411N Hard Drive displays only 31 GB instead of originally 40GB in WINXP and Bios. However I have one digital hard drive of 40 GB also whose size is correctly displayed by Bios. Pl. help me so that correct size is displayed. :(
     
  2. busyanuj

    busyanuj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    check the hard disk jumper. you might have set it wrongly.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    rajivs007

    rajivs007 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi (Ashok Vihar)
    I have made my digital hard disk as primary master and Sansung SP0411N as primary slave. What are other jumper's pl. clarify. :?
     
  4. darklord

    darklord New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune,India
    if you want to configure that drive as slave,just remove the jumpers.That's all.
    If the jumper was set to 'limit to 32GB' then after making slave i.e removing all jumpers,the partitions will get corrupted.As partition tables are screwed
     
  5. OP
    OP
    rajivs007

    rajivs007 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi (Ashok Vihar)
    No one is getting my point. I will explain in detail .........

    I have two hard disks. One is of Western Digital corporation (WDC) and second one is Samsung SP4011N. WDC is configured as master by shorting the jumper settings of master drive and Samsung Drive is set as slave by removing all the jumpers. The issue is that though both drives are of 40 GB, WDC is showing 37.6 GB free space and Samsung is showing only 31 GB as free space. Why this is happening. I also asked this question to Samsung Customer Care but you know stupids are sitting there. :x
     
  6. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    did u look up the jumper table on the hdd ?
    does NO JUMPER mean slave ? make sure of that first and let us know
    all samsung drives dont have common jumper settings ... some use 2 jumpers as well
    therefore check ur diagram and let us know ..
     
  7. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    unless ofcourse u have a motherboard that doesnt support over 32 gb which i just realised
    post ur config here
     
  8. OP
    OP
    rajivs007

    rajivs007 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi (Ashok Vihar)
  9. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    well there is a jumper settin to limit ur hdd size to a particular limit depending on the hdd
    if u dun wanna use all of ur hdd
    the JUMPERS are meagrely shorting 2 pins ... what happens is inside the disk
    the internal cicuitry restricts access to the remainin 8 gb in this case when the particular pins are shorted

    anyways its not ur mobo problem ... im quite convinced of that. ..
    i can only see a jumper problem :(
    if i think of anything else ill post. ..
    do let us knwo if anything works
     
  10. wise

    wise New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In many HDDs there are two jumpers.One for master/slave config and the other for restricting the HDD to a certain GB(e.g. 32 GB). Check the documentation which came along with the disk or simply see the label sticking upon it. I am sure the jumper settings must be clearly mentioned.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page