Samsung DVD ROM Drive is good ?

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by ssingha, Dec 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ssingha

    ssingha New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Samsung DVD ROM which is attached with my
    P-III computer. It was working finely. But one day I saw
    that it could not read DVD disk, however it can read CD
    disk tll now.
    From the 'DVD Region' of 'properties' of DVD ROM drive
    I found that current region shows 'Region 1'. But India
    belongs to 'Region 5'. When I try to change the Region
    from 1 to 5, I received an error message as per following:-
    "Unable to update region setting. Please
    make sure the drive contains a region 5
    media and you have administration privilege."
    How can the DVD drive read a DVD disk ?
    ---- Sadananda Singha
     
  2. swatkat

    swatkat Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Shimoga/ಶಿವಮೊಗ್ಗ
    You can change the Region Codes only 5 times for a drive.
    if u have already changed 5 times,then u can use these softwares.
    Try this software to read DVD of different region codes in ur drive,it's called DVD Region Code Free:-
    http://www.allformp3.com/dvd-copy-software/dvd-region-code-free.htm
    or
    DVD Ginie
    http://www.inmatrix.com/genie/
     
  3. liquid_nitrogen88

    liquid_nitrogen88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Pole....n searchin 4 a cooler place
  4. grinning_devil

    grinning_devil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Side Crater, Mars
    :shock: ..on my new rig,no country is selected rite now nd i have 5 choices remaining....

    which country shud i select???
    or why shud i even select...iam able to read digit DVD's....
    will there be a problem while reading DVD movies??
     
  5. drgrudge

    drgrudge Another Brick in the Wall

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai/Chennai
    U should have no problems in reading digit DVD's, they are data DVD's.
    and even i mine, no region code is selected...., yet i am able to play DVD movies and i have my DVD rom for 6 months...
     
  6. grinning_devil

    grinning_devil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Side Crater, Mars
    :shock: ...lol...then whats this hype abt area code???

    whats the use??
    if ur able to play DVD's for 6 months without a problem...why r these codes made???

    :lol: nd i think i shudn't select ny one of them.....rite na>?
     
  7. drgrudge

    drgrudge Another Brick in the Wall

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai/Chennai
    Dude, if u have a DVD player, then region code is important.
    These were made for DVD players, not DVD rom's.
    and why these region code were made, i have no idea.
     
  8. Bomb

    Bomb New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pluto!!!
    So that (Po rn) DVDd's Illegaly created and copied in Asia do not go to other continents .Similarly DVD's illegaly copied outside Asia do not run here.

    Take it as (por n) or anything else. You know Asia is the piracy supermarket na ?
     
  9. liquid_nitrogen88

    liquid_nitrogen88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Pole....n searchin 4 a cooler place
    ohh...come on grinnie....u rnt a novice any more.... :lol:

    region code was initially working well for DVD players but now it can be easily neutralised with a chip add on....

    region code in DVD ROMS are easily circumvented by above mentioned softwares...and many others...just google it.

    Also newer DVD ROMS are non region coded....

    overall,i think the idea of region codes really s@#$%......
     
  10. grinning_devil

    grinning_devil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Side Crater, Mars
    :eek: ..ya definately...region code do S****...!

    if that was meant to curb piracy...then its not doing ny good....
    specialy in India..... :wink:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page