running winxp in dos mode

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by drvarunmehta, Nov 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how do i start winxp pro in dos mode?
     
  2. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    what do u mean ?
    winxp is another OS and so is DOS
    apart from the fact that windows no longer has native dos support
    i suppose ur talkin abt the "boot to command prompt" option when u press f8 during sustem bootup

    u can no longer do this
    u want to boot into dos ? ull need a bootable floppt ( just to get the command prompt)
    apart from this i think u'll have to actually install a dos OS as a dual boot :D
     
  3. OP
    OP
    drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im referring to the article in this months digit pg. 34 -how to replace windows logo in system properties.
    one of the steps require you to restart the computer in dos mode
    ive tried using command prompt but it dosent work that way
     
  4. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    ahhh that
    hmmm
    well i dunno what they are talkin abt
    but i can give u another way to do it
    press ctrl+alt+del to open task manager
    shutdown explorer.exe from processes

    then from there file=> new task(run) type cmd and press enter
    and now try overwriting the file
    when ur done ... close CMD
    then go back to file=>run and then type in explorer.exe
    and VOILA
     
  5. prankzter

    prankzter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do u mean starting XP setup in dos mode???
     
  6. archzillanx

    archzillanx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagpur,India
    hey bud,
    if u wanna do it.no need to get to do it in dos mode.i m not gonna tell u how to do it in windows mode. but still here is your solution when u r done in resource hacker don't save the file directly but select save as.then copy it to some easy address like say c:. create a dos bootable floppy by selecting the option while formatting it.BOOT! now copy the original file to a safe location. k. then copy the modified file which u saved at c: to ur system32 folder. this should do it!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page