1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

rundll32.exe not found!!!

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by prasad_den, Mar 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. prasad_den

    prasad_den New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The new cherry..!!
    Hi friends,
    I was using my PC as usual, without any problems till now. But when I try to open any program from the quick launch, or through the Windows program list, or anything at all, I get a message:

    C:\WINNT\system32\rundll32.exe
    Application not found


    or

    Choose the program you want to use to open this file:
    or try the internet ...blah..blah...


    Now, when I manually browse to the folder, I find a rundll32.exe file (32.5KB, last modified in Aug 2004). But the icon for this file looks juat like a plain blue page, not resembling the usual .exe icons.

    What is the problem here...???? Any virus attack...??? I'm unable to run the virusscan also..Any suggestions..??

    Am using Win XP SP2...
     
  2. OP
    OP
    prasad_den

    prasad_den New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The new cherry..!!
    Someone help me guys. I'm unable to use Start > Run or command prompt options also. Can i download it from someplace? Or can someone mail it to me?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    prasad_den

    prasad_den New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The new cherry..!!
    Sorry to bump this thread, but I still haven't managed to solve my problem.. I'm unable to extract the file from the XP CD, coz cmd prompt cannot initialize.. Tried googling 1st thing, but unable to find any solutions....
     
  4. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
    Try exe association fix at http://dougknox.com/xp/file_assoc.htm

    It is also possible that you have a virus or have partially repaired a virus. Try to run a scan (antivirus, spyware check, etc) in safe mode. If it doesnt work/help, do a repair install.

    Arun
     
  5. kikass

    kikass New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    since your rundll32.exe icon has changed.. its almost certain that it has been modified/replaced.... you dont need to load XP to extract file from XP cd... boot from it and opt for repair console.. extract your file from this prompt and overwrite the existing one... will not remove the infection but just might let you run your anti virus...
    and you can always run a repair setup if nothing else works.

    best would be finding a bootable anti virus cd from somewhere... scan your machine... and then try repairing.
     
  6. Tech&ME

    Tech&ME Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    I don't think you can repair a Windows XP SP2 installation from the Windows XP CD. SP2 changes many system files after installation.

    You can download a fresh copy of the rundll32.exe file from the link below:

    http://rapidshare.de/files/16023947/rundll32.exe.html

    I have uploaded it for you. Just replace it with the one you already have.
     
  7. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
    ^^^ I believe that when dll files get corrupted possibly due to virus, the error shown is as above and does not necessarily mean that the rundll32.exe file is in trouble. Windows will show the above error eventhough it is the dll file that is not working... It could be a very important dll because all/most apps are not working...

    Try running sfc in safe mode...

    Arun
     
  8. OP
    OP
    prasad_den

    prasad_den New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The new cherry..!!
    @Tech&ME : Thanks for uploading the file.. I'll replace and see..

    @sakumar79: I'll try your suggestion first.. But, my antivirus could not be initiated even in safe mode, so I doubt how far it'll work..

    Anyways, thanks for the replies guys... I'll keep you updated...
     
  9. OP
    OP
    prasad_den

    prasad_den New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The new cherry..!!
    Not working dude... And replacing the file or running the exe association fix also doesn't work..Am getting really desperate now....:(
     
  10. kikass

    kikass New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    sorry, my bad. i have slip streamed SP2 into my original XP to make a new bootable cd.. just so used to using it that i didnt take that into consideration.


    @prasad
    again, try getting a bootable anti virus cd to clean your hdd...
    or try boot from another hard disk and then scan this hdd for infection...
    in any case do clean your hdd of viruses before trying to repair the installation... most probably wont work the other way.
     
  11. Tech&ME

    Tech&ME Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Since you are using Windows XP SP2

    sfc scannow will not work.

    I will tell how to use it. Just follow the instruction below.

    Step 1.: Go to START --> RUN and then type regedit and press ENTER.

    Step 2.: Navigate to this key:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\
    CurrentVersion\Setup

    Step 3.: Click on Setup , you will see a number of entries the right pane, next right click on SourcePath and then say modify

    Now enter the following as it is.

    C:\windows\ServicePackFiles\i386

    Step 4.: Close the registry.

    Step 5.: Restart your computer.


    Step 6.: Once the desktop is visible, go to START ---> RUN and type CMD and then press ENTER

    Step 7.: On the C:\ type exactly as shown below:

    sfc/scannow



    ****

    I hope this should work. If this doesn't work please tell us.


    NOTE: This is only because you have SP2 installed and remember NO Windows XP CD will be required to be inserted.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    prasad_den

    prasad_den New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The new cherry..!!
    @Tech&me: followed your advice, but had the foll. probs:

    1.Couldn't access regedit thro' start~ run. Had to go to windows folder & edit.

    2.Sourcepath had the value you mentioned. Trying to modify anyway gives error message.

    3.Unable to run CMD even after this.

    Please help.
     
  13. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
    Try to make a copy of regedit.exe and name the copy as regedit.com. See if you can run it... Similarly, see if command.com works instead of cmd...

    Also, right click on My Computer->Properties, go to Advanced Tab and select Environment variables. In System variables, look at path. Typically, it should start as "%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\System32\Wbem;"

    Arun
     
  14. Tech&ME

    Tech&ME Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Ok you can try to run it in the SAFE MODE

    Also try to run regedt32.exe instead of regedit

    If nothing works, you should re-install Windows XP with SP2 (without formatting your partition)

    Follow the instructions below :

    Step 1: Start your computer and let windows load.

    Step 2: Insert the Windows XP SP2 CD (the one you slimstreamed earlier)

    Step 3: Start installing Windows XP by selecting the UPGRADE option.

    Step 4: Remember to select the option, which will allow you to choose the partition later during installation. ( You can access this option on the Upgrade screen itself)

    Step 5: Install in on the same partition in which you already have Windows XP SP2.

    Step 6: You are done.

    NOTE: This procedure will overwrite your OS installation, you will not loose anything in the My documents folder, but you may have to re-install MS -OFFICE, etc.

    Good Luck and please post back the results.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    prasad_den

    prasad_den New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The new cherry..!!
    @Tech&ME: That's exactly what I've wanted to avoid thus far...Was desperately trying to find a better option, but I guess I'll have to reinstall the OS.. Anyway, I'll just wait a couple of days or I'll do the reinstall over the weekend...:(
     
  16. ::vicky::

    ::vicky:: New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    0X4B7H
    best option is to reinstall windows
     
  17. venkat_arjun

    venkat_arjun New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1
     
  18. amitash

    amitash Intel OCer

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    +1 for reinstaling...ter mite be a fix but ters no guarantee its not gonna come back and hunt u....reinstall to be safe
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page