1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

removing restore points in XP

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by janitha, Apr 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    The used space in my C drive has more than doubled in about four months after installing XP and other applications. I think it may be due to the restore points created during the period and also the windows updates. If I am correct, is it possible to remove the unnecessary restore points? I would like to format only as a last resort, though I used to do it every month with Win 98. Suggestions requested.

    V.Prem Kumar
     
  2. Netjunkie

    Netjunkie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hitech City, "Hyderabad"
    You can use "DiskCleanup" to remove all the restore points except the most recent one.
    Or else you can use utilities like "Tweak XP" to remove selected restore points.
    System Restore by default takes up a lot of space on your drive, you can limit the disk space allocated to System Restore from the system properties.
     
  3. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    yes,
    netjunkie is right.just go to

    my computer>right click c:>properpities>disk clean up...
     
  4. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    additionally also use the 'ccleaner' freeware to clear extra diskspace
    www.ccleaner.com
     
  6. OP
    OP
    janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    Please tell me what are hotfix backups and SP backups and whether it is safe to remove those or will I have to download them again? I presently have all the critical updates installed.

    V.Prem Kumar
     
  7. OP
    OP
    janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    But it does not give any option to remove restore points and for the options given, I prefer using System Mechanic.

    V.Prem Kumar
     
  8. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
    When you use windows update patches and service pack, they work by replacing certain system files in your system... The hotfix backups store the older version so that they can restore the system to its old state if there is any problem coming up with the newly applied update. Typically, if you find your system stable after a week or so after applying latest patches, you can remove the backups without problem...

    Arun
     
  9. saurabh.sauron

    saurabh.sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    turn off system restore. it will remove all system restore data.

    then turn it on again..
     
  10. OP
    OP
    janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    Thank you all for the prompt and helpful suggestions and especially to saurabh.sauron

    My used space in C drive was 6.39 GB and as suggested by saurabh.sauron I turned off the system restore and when restarted, the size came down to 2.6 GB. I never thought it will make such a difference since I had limited the space for Restore to 10% of C drive and the total size of C is 25 GB.

    Then I ran Total Care and Optimize of System Mechanic Pro and the system generally is much faster.

    BTW now I have enabled the Restore and created a new Restore Point.

    And QwertyManiac, is there any simple way of removing hotfix backups and SP backups alongwith their registries since I prefer to install least number of such tools.

    V.Prem Kumar
     
  11. chesss

    chesss mera kutch nahi ho sakta

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    Note that extra space on your hard-drive doesn't hurt. I am not saying that don't do anything, but make sure to keep it easy. Trust me on this, I have messed up my PC plenty of times.
    Anyways check this out: http://bold-fortune.com/forums - kissass guide to slimming down xp. Make sure you make a backup!! of your system.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    You are correct of course, but especially regarding C Drive I think. I had slimmed it down from the very beginning by things like disabling unnecessary services, changing Virtual Memory to D drive etc.
    I had also in the past messed up my PC numerous times and that is how I learnt most of the things, ie by experimenting and taking risks. But after upgrading my PC the last time, when I started using XP, I almost never met wih serious problems and never a single BSOD.

    V.Prem Kumar
     
  13. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You dont have to install any tool, its jus an exe, run it, use it and throw it away :) it doesnt need to be installed... yes u can do it manually too but I wouldnt recommend it...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page