Reinstall XP Pro

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by prasad_den, May 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. prasad_den

    prasad_den New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The new cherry..!!
    Hi all,
    I wanted to reinstall my win XP pro after I had a series of problems earlier. So I used the XP Pro CD and followed the procedures for a clean reinstall. The problem is, when I try to erase the existing partition C and format and reinstall there, it says that C cannot be erased.. So I end up doing a repair instead and now I have two copies of XP installed in C. :( How do I format C completely and reinstall XP.. Any ideas...???
     
  2. saurabh.sauron

    saurabh.sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    use xp cd. are us trying to format from within the GUI?
    if so...
    put the cd inside. restart
    boot from the cd.
    then select the option to reinstall xp.
    then format C:/ and install xp there.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    prasad_den

    prasad_den New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The new cherry..!!
    I am using XP CD.. I'm not able to boot with it... It says press any key to boot, then says checking your hardware config... It gets stuck at this point.. I have to reset again..
     
  4. MysticHalo

    MysticHalo Your Maker.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumba][
    Seems pirated CD to me.
    BTW, how did u manage to get two copies on the same partition? I suggest getting a valid(or working ;) ) windows boot CD and using it for installation.
     
  5. vinayasurya

    vinayasurya New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think you have some hardware problem. Check your system for any troubles with utilities
     
  6. OP
    OP
    prasad_den

    prasad_den New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The new cherry..!!
    I'm in fact using an original one. We bought an original one and my bro n me are using the same one.
     
  7. digiFriend

    digiFriend New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if you are using FAT32 file system, make bootable floppy or cd from friend computers from win98 or winME, then use format command in dos.
    or go for
    SEAGATE: DiscWizard Starter Edition (DWSE)
    seagate boot image for hard Disc format and utilities.
    will make bootable disk which will help in harddisk format and has harddisk utilities.
     
  8. abracadabra

    abracadabra New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    first get hold of a bootable WINXP CD or a bootable floppy crated preferably in WIN98. then choose to boot from Floppy as your first option and CD Drive as your second option in the BIOS. Now you will be able to format and reinstall a fresh copy.
     
  9. champ_rock

    champ_rock champ_rock

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere on the earth , near the equator
    i think there is no problem wiht the cd... i think it is something related to the hardware only...... no need for all those floppyies as u can boot from ur cd :)
     
  10. vrnoormd

    vrnoormd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vellore
    U have any linux Partitions on your HARD DISK.....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page