Recording TV prog using PC

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by SmoothCriminal, Oct 16, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SmoothCriminal

    SmoothCriminal New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    Hi

    I've heard that its possible to record TV programs using PC.. How do i go about doin this?..

    What alll shd i buy and how do i do?...
     
  2. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    get a tv tuner card for one
    then we'll talk ;)
     
  3. OP
    OP
    SmoothCriminal

    SmoothCriminal New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    m..

    Hey man..

    I enquired my friend abt TV tuner card.. Are there many types, and which type shd i get for this purpose..?
     
  4. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    what do u mean types ?
    a tv tuner card lets u watch tv on ur pc
    now the only types i am aware of is internal and external
    either should be fine
    external tuners have added features like watching tv on ur monitor without puttin ur pc on .. but this is only in some models and companies
    make sure its a good company like pinnacle as this will define ur quality of capture ...
    get a good software to go with it which will be bundles with ur card
    and u should be good to go
     
  5. amitsaudy

    amitsaudy New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Go for an ATI agp/tvtuner card.
    Well worth it
     
  6. medpal

    medpal Medic on Call!!

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    surat, gujarat
    u need a tv tuner card to record programms on tv.
    i would recommend pinnacle pctv plus / pro which ihave been using for a long time and it allows you to record in mpeg format and many other formats.

    one more thing if you can get a graphice card to go with it that will improve your system performance and while racording make sure you get the full strength signal on the card.
     
  7. nepsan

    nepsan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is that enough!

    well guys many answers but i think none 100%
    i think it is better not to drop text over ...
    Any way i am unaware about it and asking
    Is ,having Tv card enough?or we need other capute cards and so i have heard that with out capture card even Tv card only doesnt work well and takes some hour to records come programs
    So do any real genius have any real idea about the problem.
    Just give some real answers ok
    Frank
     
  8. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Ati AIW or all in wonder cards r gr8 but are costly. U can search for 9600 series based AIW's but a cheaper and better solution would be TV tuner card.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page