1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Ram for dual channel

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by cyrux, May 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cyrux

    cyrux New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hyd
    I am about to pruchase a 256 Mb ddr for a 845 board i have. I already have a 256 Mb ram (ddr) running a 333 Mhz. I want to add another 256Mb in another slot. Even if i buy of 400Mhz it will be underclocked to 333 Mhz so thats not a pob. What i wanted to know is whether i have to take of the ram timings also ??? IS it necessary that the ram timings also match.
    i m not OCing the ram
     
  2. mohit

    mohit The Hardware Labs

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raipur, India.
    Rules to Enable Dual Channel Mode

    To achieve Dual Channel mode, the following conditions must be met:

    Matched DIMM configuration in each channel

    Same Density (128MB, 256MB, 512MB, etc.)

    Matched in both Channel A and Channel B memory channels

    Populate symmetrical memory slots (Slot 0 or Slot 1)

    Note: Configurations that do not match the above conditions will revert to Single Channel mode.

    The following conditions do not need to be met:

    Same brand

    Same timing specifications

    Same DDR speed

    Note: Memory channel speed is determined by the slowest DIMM module populated in the system.

    Source :
    http://www.intel.com/support/motherboards/desktop/sb/CS-011965.htm
     
  3. mohit

    mohit The Hardware Labs

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raipur, India.
    btw 845 board does not support dual channel...
     
  4. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    U R Mobo does not support Dual Channel mODE
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page