Queries regarding O2, EDGE and OSes

Status
Not open for further replies.

abhishek_del

Journeyman
I am deciding to buy an O2...either XDA atom or XDA stealth but I need to know some things from experienced users.

How is the after sales service in India...? Should I go for XDA atom where half the ppl are extremely happy and other half is extremely disappointed?. (CNET user reviews) *asia.cnet.com/reviews/handhelds/0,39001703,39095540p,00.htm But I reckon no Indian reviewer there.

I read some reviews where ppl complaining that their office which deals with XDA is in Delhi only..but I am a resident of Delhi so thats not a problem for me.

And whether EDGE really helps in Airtel network...they say their network supports EDGE.??

ANd when will 3g come to India?

And which OS is better Symbian or Windows Mobile?

Windows looks cool to me but I haven't used it so don't know.
And should I go for a phone with wondows mobile 6.0 only or 5 is also okay keeping in mind that windows only supports 65k colors.

Nokia's pdas like e61i and e62 etc...are too bulky...

And is it okay or not a big problem typing emails thru touchscreen where qwerty is missing like in XDA Stealth.
Any other phone ppl can suggest...my budget is 20k...my main need is edge, qwerty, good processor, 3g wud help, camera, wlan..

Thanks

Last edited:

Tech.Masti

Wise Old Owl
airtel EDGE is really helps you to get more speeds than simple GPRS, in GPRS you get 5-6kBps max, but in EDGE you can get 19-20kBps max and 15kBps avg.
have no experience about windows mobile

Pat

Beyond Smart
Airtel supports Edge and you can expect speeds around 10 kbps on it..Not more than that! Both Windows and Symbian have their pros and cons.But having used both the platforms, I would definitely recommend Windows Mobile based phones..

In your budget, HTC Touch is the best option! Dont go for Atom is you plan to do a lot of smsing and emailing.Believe me typing using touchscreen keyboard is a PITA! Better stay away from it..