1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

proxy help!

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by prankzter, Sep 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. prankzter

    prankzter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey guys!
    i need help....i connect to the internet via proxy server..but the problem is that the firewall on the server blocks all the p2p softwares such as kaaza, BiTtorrent etc...
    is there anyway i can bypass that firewall??
     
  2. alib_i

    alib_i New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    omnipresent
    yup

    i have the same problem ... my college lan stops all ports except 80

    Solution 1
    #Get Hopster (Preview Release 16) from http://www.hopster.com
    #configure proxy in hopster and put kazaa socks proxy as 127.0.01 port 1080
    #problems - hopster has a speed limit of 2 kbps .
    So downloads are annoyingly slow.
    #It opens an advertise window which is extremely irritating ( dont worry its not a spyware ). This problem can be solved by right clicking on window bar and minimizing it. Ater a few minutes the Advertise Window slides to the top of screen and disappers ( it looks really funny )

    Solution 2
    #Get HTTP-Tunnel from http://www.http-tunnel.com/
    #Again similar configuration in kazaa and http-tunnel.
    #This software gives better speeds but the speed depends on the http-tunnel.com server load. You can get better speeds by paying.
    #Problem - i find that mykazaa doesnt connect properly with it and tends to disconnects too often.

    Solution 3
    #If your server has specific softwares which can find kazaa packets and block them specifically then you need 'DK Firewall Booster'. It can change the name 'kazaa' from inside packets to something else. Search for it on Google.
    #This software is 0.02 version stage and not very dependable.

    Solution 4
    #Connecting Bittorent is a bit tricky. I use BitSpirit Client with Your-Freedom. Search for it on google you will get the downlload links
     
  3. OP
    OP
    prankzter

    prankzter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    my proxy address is 10.10.1.2 on port 3128...should i replace the above with my proxy adress??
     
  4. alib_i

    alib_i New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    omnipresent
    ya ....
    put that proxy in hopster's proxy preferences

    and change kazaa's proxy from
    menu-> options -> options -> firewall -> check use socks 5 proxy server
    and put ip 127.0.0.1 port 1080
    ( its 127.0.0.1 i posted is incorrectly in provious post )
     
  5. pag_floyd

    pag_floyd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Allahabad
    the same problem in my college

    is there any sofware which gives Higher Speeds !!!???
     
  6. ishaan

    ishaan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    is it possible to change kazaa's port to 80 n use it ?
    so whenever v wanna use r browser v will stop using kazaa....or is it possible 4 both 2 use da same port (80) at da same time ?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page