Problems and more problems with Linux

Status
Not open for further replies.

phreak0ut

The Thread Killer >:)
1)I recently installed SuSE 10.1. Installation went fine, was working fine. Then from yesterday, all of a sudden, I can't log into root. Since there was some urgent work, I just logged in as a normal user. Today, I try to log in with root, not working. Then, I try to log in as normal user, its not working either. When I try to log in with either of the accounts, the screen goes blank for a second, the timer of the pointer is moving and then switches back to the log in screen. I tried to log in numerous times, but didn't work. I'm a total newbie to this so I didn't try out anything new.

2)When I could log into SuSE 10.1, NONE of the audio players could play mp3s. Amarok complained about the Xine engine not being able to recognise mp3s and asked me to go through the FAQ section which I didn't get. I faced the same problem with FC5 as well. Tried Noatun, Amarok, etc., which didn't work. Only Real Player could play my mp3s but with very bad quality. My windows partitions are NTFS in case you might this info to fix the problem

3)On SuSE 10.1, I configure my internet connection, but when I connect to the net, a page with little or not images takes ages to open, which was not the case with FC5 which opened at a 'normal' speed for my BSNL broadband connection.

I want to make a complete transition from Windows to Linux, but these issues are keeping me from making it. Hope you guys can help me out with this.

Thanks in advance.

shashank_re

In the zone
Even i had almost similar issues with SUSE. it is not the problem with SUSE,it is with Linux.Even i wanted to shift to linux from windows but i wasnt able to do so.
I would recommend you to format everything and install XP with AV and firewall.Linux is not very easy for home users.

mehulved

18 Till I Die............