1. Hi Guest
    We are running a survey about laptop service in India, and we'd love your inputs. Please help us improve the quality of laptop servicing, and if you've had any bad experiences, now is the time to be heard.
    Take the survey

Problem With Windows XP

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by FasTrack, Oct 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FasTrack

    FasTrack New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Of Heaven.
    I installed xp yesterday, i previously had 98se

    now, suddenly a dialog box shows up which shuts down my system after one minute

    it says

    c:\windows\system32\lsass.exe is missing

    terminated unexpectedly with status code 107374109

    and waits for a minute and restarts automatically

    kindly help me and let me know how do i get rid of this.
     
  2. OP
    OP
    FasTrack

    FasTrack New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Of Heaven.
    More clearly it's like this

    the dialog box which shows up says the system is hsutting down.

    please save all work in progress

    this was initiated by NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM
     
  3. ShekharPalash

    ShekharPalash Web Entrepreneur

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    It's SASSER WORM!!!

    A VIRUS...

    Check ur system for viruses using ur antivirus....

    keep ur windows updated...

    appply sp2 in ur XP..
     
  4. alib_i

    alib_i New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    omnipresent
  5. casanova

    casanova The Frozen Nova

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Trespasser in Virtual Land
    try making a fresh install of winxp
     
  6. OP
    OP
    FasTrack

    FasTrack New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Of Heaven.
    How do i format the drive in which i have installed win xp

    How do i boot in DOS mode ????, my os is win xp

    i guess i would format the c: and re-install xp all over again
     
  7. casanova

    casanova The Frozen Nova

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Trespasser in Virtual Land
    boot with the win xp cd. follow on screen instructions. format c:.if u r not planning to use win9x or win me format it in ntfs mode. then just complete the installation.
     
  8. allajunaki

    allajunaki New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere In my room....
    No need to Reinstall Xp dear,
    All u have to do is Remove the Sasser worm... Apply SP2 Update to XP (Or @least Enable XP's Firewall on ur LAN and Dialup...)
    I would recommend u to use a good antivirus (I personally like AVG) and a Good firewall. (XP builtin is ok, SP2's Upadate has a new firewall.. Its great!!..) otherwise use Zonealarm...

    Unfortunatly if u go online without a firewall ur system gets infected in 10 Mins or so... (XP has a critical Flaw), So use a firewall...!
     
  9. enoonmai

    enoonmai New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,302
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Parked diagonally in a parallel universe
    I hope you meant if you go online without SP2, that is. :D And without SP2, XP does not have "a" critical flaw. Its got tons and tons of them and then some more :D But if you install SP2, and pop in a good AV/firewall (Windows Firewall is crap, not to mention tha billion and one compatibility issues with all imaginable programs) then your system is sealed tighter than a.... well, never mind...., its sealed tight :wink: :D
    Fastrack, get SP2 and create a slipstreamed CD and then live happily ever after (until the next Patch Tuesday, that is) :D
     
  10. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav Guest

    Could be blaster too, I remember, last year when BLaster came out, I baught this PC, & after installing windows with no AV & Firwall I wen't to Windows Update & was infected to blaster, I removed blaster via Ad-Aware
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page