PROBLEM WITH NTFS AND FAT!

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by stone cold, Nov 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stone cold

    stone cold New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    noida
    hey :) guys its a deep shit :oops: i have jst bought my 80gb hard disk 7 mnths ago and now its showing sm problem that it automaticaly makes my c: partition to ntfs :x and dosent shows other drives. i hve dual boot so in d: drive every thing is ok. but in d: also when i try to format c drive it shows only ntfs and 76000gb of partition. :roll: plz tell me what the prob is?
     
  2. technoteen

    technoteen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagpur
    please be more informative about problem
    are both the boot working?
    which are the two os?
    you are facing problem in which os?
     
  3. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    what the h3ll did u just say ?
    automatically makes c: ntfs ?
    u have dual boot where are ur 2 os's ? both on same hdd diff partitions or diff hdds ?
    what u mean everything is ok in d:?

    and 76000 GB ?????? how did that happen
    plz be mroe specific abt ur problem
     
  4. busyanuj

    busyanuj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    80 GB of hard disk is actually equal to 76000 MB only, because the hard disk manufacturers use 1000 (i.e. they take 1 mb = 1000 kilobytes) in calculating disk space while actually the disk space is calculated by Operating systems using 1024. (i.e. 1 mb = 1024 kilobytes)

    As far as I know FAT32 file system does not support partitions as big as 76 GB, maybe that's why you don't get the option to format the partition into FAT32.
     
  5. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i presume
    c: = win98 - fat32
    d: = xp/2k - ntfs

    Answer these
    - which brand of hdd
    - did u install partition magic or anyother s/w which fiddles with partitions ;)
    - how did u try to format the drive ? xp recovery console (rec-con)from cd or win98 boot cd
    - have u tried fdisk /mbr
    - in xp rec-con run diskpart to see what fs the partitions have
    - run fixboot c:
    - run fix mbr
    - use the format option in rec-con to format c: in fat32
    - after ur prob is fixed go to manufacturs site and download disk manager . make a floppy and boot with it , u have an option to backup ur mbr , use it to create a backup , if u have the same prob or something worse later u can restore mbr that way .
     
  6. OP
    OP
    stone cold

    stone cold New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    noida
    LET ME EXPLAIN U GUYS. I HAVE WIN2003 ON C: DRIVE WIN XP ON D: DRIVE ONE DAY I DNT KNOWW HOW WHEN I STARTED WIN 2000 I SAW ONLY C: DRIVE ON WHICH IT IS INSTALLED THEN I BOOT FRM D: i.e XP & I SAW ALL THE DRIVES THERE & IN THE FORMAT OPTION OF C DRIVE FROM XP I SAW THAT IS SHOWS THE SPACE AS 76000 GB INSTEAD OF 10 GB AND ONLY IN NTFS FORMAT NOT FAT32.

    HDD IS SEAGAT 80GB BARACCUDA

    I USED P.M GIVEN IN THE BOOTABLE CD OF WIN 2003
    I
    TRIED EVERYTHING FDISK SHOWS ONKNOWN FORMAT AND SHOWS 76000BG OF PARTITION ONLY.

    I TRIED D.M ALSO PARTITION MAGIC ALSO THEY TOO SHOW THE SAME RESULT.

    TELL ME HOW TO USE OTHER MBR COMMANDS. TRIED fdisk/mbr
     
  7. ice

    ice New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    U could prolly do a low level format, then load xp and be nice and happy.

    Btw fat 32's limitation is 137GB i think :D
     
  8. [deXter]

    [deXter] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Well the reason why you are getting that error is because of the fact that FAT32 is limited to 137 GB (as ice says), and your HDD is reporting 76000GB. Which confused the hell outta windows and messed up an already messed up drive.

    Its obvious that your partition table has been corrupted. If you knew the exact sizes of your partitions, then you could edit your partition table manually and correct the problem. However thats too complex and risky.

    So the easiest way I would suggest is to take a backup of all your important files to some other drive (you may want to borrow your friends drive) or onto CDs

    Then do a low level format as ice suggested.. I'd recommend Either iolo's DriveScrubber or Active@ Kill Disk.

    Then install windows as usual after the low level format.



    [​IMG]
     
  9. OP
    OP
    stone cold

    stone cold New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    noida
    sorry guys did i wrote 76000gb. instead it is 76000mb i.e according to hard disk it is 80 gb but the prob is c: is not showing other parttitions which i created it takes all partitions in 1 i.e only c: . 1 more thing IN ANALYSING C I FOUND OUT THAT THE PARTITION HAS TURNED IN TO FAT 32X DONT KNOW WHAT TYPE OF PARTITION IS THIS . OR IF THIS A HARD DISK ERROR. SO THAT I SHALL GET IT REPLACED.
    PLEASE HELP
     
  10. [deXter]

    [deXter] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Theres no need to get it replaced. Just backup all your data and do a low level format and reinstall. Its just some partition table problem thats all..


    [​IMG]
     
  11. OP
    OP
    stone cold

    stone cold New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    noida
    THANX :D BUT THIS IS THE SECOND :roll: TIME I GOT THIS ERROR WITHIN 2 DAYS AFTER RE FORMATTING AND CERATING PARTITIONS BOTH TIME THE PROB WAS SAME :cry:
     
  12. [deXter]

    [deXter] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Hmm.. Did you do a low level format? I suggest you use iolo's DriveScrubber to do the low level format.

    Then use SpinRite 6 on a full level 5 (2nd option on the main menu), to check your drive for defects.


    [​IMG]
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page