Problem With Norton Antivirus 2003

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by FasTrack, Oct 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FasTrack

    FasTrack New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Of Heaven.
    I have formatted my system before 2 weeks and loaded win xp

    I also loaded norton antivirus 2003

    It ran perfectly the first time checking the whole system

    From the next time whenever it runs, it does for a few minutes and just closes it down itself for some weird reason

    Same case with the live update facility it simply says it cant function and gives a strange error.

    Some1 help plz.
     
  2. Sonu_wow

    Sonu_wow New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi,
    try uninstalling and then re installing the software.if this doesnt work i assume that ur system is low on memory.if thats not the case then i think u need an expert's help.

    Good Luck ! solving the problem
     
  3. lavan_joy

    lavan_joy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In your heart
    2003 and 2004 versions are taking more resources

    So better to switch to Norton 2005.(I am using 2005. Better than previous versions and takes low resources)
     
  4. vamsi104

    vamsi104 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Norton 2003, is a real menace.I used to use it until it started utilising all my resources making things complicated. I have uninstalled it and am usin kasprovsky now much better.


    hey guys ! can any one help me in finding the nortonprotect files. I recently found (after uninstalling ) that it was occupying some 3.5 gigs of storage.moreover those were not visibile even on allowing to show hidden files.
    Plz help.....
     
  5. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav Guest

    Upgrade to NAV 2K5, there is a catch, do not rename or remove the Start menu folder, simply hide it, or Office 2003 SP1 won't work

    NortonProtected files are hidden system file, select show dhidden file & hidden system files from the folder option menu, & then go to the folder Recycler in c:\ & d:\ then delete all the contents of the folder norton, it will have normal folder icon, while Recycle Bin of Windows will have the Recycle Bin Icon
     
  6. ice

    ice New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Umm, u probably need to update the live update engine. Try googling the error code.
     
  7. xenkatesh

    xenkatesh Bewitched!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    Try google searching with the error or contact Symantec website and also read the troubleshooting.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page