problem with cursor- help pls- urgent

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by santu_29, Mar 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. santu_29

    santu_29 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    hi
    i am facing a very annoying problem. the mouse pointer stays where it is <sticks on the screen>, but the mouse is working. its that i dont see the cursor move but i can use the mouse to click on anything though i cant see the cursor move. i restart the pc and every thing works well for some time.again suddenly the cursor(mouse pinter) hangs and does not move though the mouse pointer is working and i am clicking on what i want. its not that the mouse has hanged, its working properly, its the pointer(the visual arrow).
    i want to add that, the mouse stays on(i.e. the led below stays on even though i switch off my pc), it goes off only after i switch off my ups.

    specks:
    asrock-intel845 motherboard
    512 ram
    p4 2.4 processor
    xfx 6200 agp
    using adsl via lanport onboard
    56kbps modem
    aureal soundcard
     
  2. imported_dheeraj_kumar

    imported_dheeraj_kumar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai, India
    did you install some cursor program like cursorxp or somehing?

    if you did, try disabling/uninstalling that, and restarting, or take off your mouse, restart, plug it back in and install new drivers
     
  3. OP
    OP
    santu_29

    santu_29 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    re:

    i havent installed any cursor program, i want to add that, th mouse stays on(i.e. the led below stays on even though i switch off my pc), it goes off only after i switch off my ups.
     
  4. imported_dheeraj_kumar

    imported_dheeraj_kumar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai, India
    you mean it stays even after you switch off by pressing the power off switch?

    it should not.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    santu_29

    santu_29 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    yep!
     
  6. grinning_devil

    grinning_devil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Side Crater, Mars
    is it a USB or a PS/2 mouse...

    restart in safe mode..
    rmove the mouse drivers from device manager,
    and then when ur adding them,add logitech PS/2 drivers...should work now..

    also u can try using the same mouse in some other PC to check if something is wrong with PC or mouse!
     
  7. ::vicky::

    ::vicky:: New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    0X4B7H
    check the driver update of mouse or try a friend mouse on ur comp
     
  8. hitman_never_dies

    hitman_never_dies New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    in agency
    Dude

    Remove cursor programmes like Cursor XP and change ur cursor to windows default.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    santu_29

    santu_29 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    i updated the drivers, bought my friends mouse, but no change, i am not using any programs like cursor xp
     
  10. ::vicky::

    ::vicky:: New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    0X4B7H
    may be ur port is having some problem
     
  11. OP
    OP
    santu_29

    santu_29 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    alas i am still stuck, please someone help :cry:
     
  12. ::vicky::

    ::vicky:: New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    0X4B7H
    ok two more things reinstall ur os if u dont have xp install xp and one more thing have ur port of mouse checked
     
  13. OP
    OP
    santu_29

    santu_29 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    thanks for all the support, i got it right finally. got a reply from my motherboard vendor (asrock) via email, it was a jumper that had to be set, did it and its working fine now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page