1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Problem wih my Net connection

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by DKant, Aug 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DKant

    DKant New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a creaking plashtik chair
    Well it works OK half the times. But sometimes the 'MR' led on the modem (D-Link DFM-560ES) goes off and the connection goes down. It comes back up automatically after some time. It gets rectified sometimes when I disconnect and reconnect. But it's really frustrating when I'm downloading large files. :x
     
  2. sailendra

    sailendra New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    It could be because of bad line conditions. You should get your phone line checked. :!:
     
  3. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    It cud be due to bad line conditions and also due to an ISP idle time policy. You can use software like Internet turbo or Anti Idle to prevent discconection.
     
  4. akshayc

    akshayc New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vanuatu
    PUT - ath=150 - as advanced setting for the modem, this should work, you can try out higher values but above if you need more than 250, then better get your phone line fixed or figure out what electrical device is interfering with your phone line, cud be a cordless phone ar an answering machine or even a caller id device.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    DKant

    DKant New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a creaking plashtik chair
    Definitely not cordless/answering m/c/caller id. Simple reason - I don;t have any of them. And it is not due to the ISP's idle time policy either. Hell most of the times this happens when I'm going at full speed, viz downloading/uploading something. Gotto be the lines - I had myself swicthed the Net connection from 1 phone to another, and I must admit I hadn't done a great job with the electrical connections.
     
  6. freshseasons

    freshseasons King of my own Castle

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    EVERYWHERE
    Basically i think one of your Transitor is spooked up ....resulting in overheat and then when finally after sometime its cools its good enough to work again unitl it heats again ...
     
  7. OP
    OP
    DKant

    DKant New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a creaking plashtik chair
    What's the solution then?
     
  8. rakesh_1024

    rakesh_1024 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try moving the Modem onto a different PCI slot.
     
  9. freshseasons

    freshseasons King of my own Castle

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    EVERYWHERE
    Cheapest i suggest is ..change the modem for good.....Else you can always open it right after u have used it heavily for net and check the hottest of smell it and chek for burning smell ....and have the capacitor replaced with the same rating.... :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page