1. Hi Guest
    We are running a survey about laptop service in India, and we'd love your inputs. Please help us improve the quality of laptop servicing, and if you've had any bad experiences, now is the time to be heard.
    Take the survey

Problem! Please help

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by senthilrek, Nov 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. senthilrek

    senthilrek New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    I have a problem in browsing internet. That is some basic sites like yahoo, google, gmail etc., are not opening , automatically it goes to a search page menting the domain is available for sale. It happens in both IE and Opera. I thought software would have been installed and i found many search softwares installed unknowlingly. So i removed all of them but i still have the problem. i dont know what to do? Kindly adviceme
     
  2. xenkatesh

    xenkatesh Bewitched!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    Try this go to the internet option in IE and set the home page to www.yahoo.com save it now check it again!!:)
     
  3. kl_ravi

    kl_ravi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ತುಮಕೂರು, ಕರ್ನಾಟಕ
  4. [deXter]

    [deXter] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    The easiest solution? Dont use IE. Switch to Firefox or Opera today! :)

    Download links in my signature..

    [​IMG]
    _________________
    Firefox
    Rediscover the web
     
  5. technoteen

    technoteen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagpur
    \

    m8 he already said that he is using opera and geeting the same problem

    it think you have spyware problem, use spybot or system mechanic
     
  6. [deXter]

    [deXter] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    whoops! My mistake :)
    ---


    senthilrek, please try CWShredder and see if that solves your problem.

    Then check your C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts file. Open it in notepad. Ignoring the '#' lines, there should only be one like like this: 127.0.0.1 localhost. If there are additional lines, delete them and add this.

    Now in both Opera and Ie, check your proxy server settings. Disable any proxy servers if used. In opera, Tools -> Quick Preferences-> Enable Proxy Servers (uncheck if checked).

    If all that doesnt work, then you'll need to download Spybot Search and Destroy like everyone says. Install, update scan and destroy :)

    [​IMG]
    _________________
    Firefox
    Rediscover the web
     
  7. ice

    ice New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Damn, i was about to tell him to check his host file and run cw shredder
     
  8. ujjwal

    ujjwal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could be the hosts file :) as DeXter says ... anyway on windows 98 the hosts file if present will be at C:\Windows and C:\WINNT\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\ETC for Win 2k ...

    If nothing works post your HijackThis logfile - http://www.spychecker.com/program/hijackthis.html
     
  9. ironcross77

    ironcross77 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
  10. sujithtom

    sujithtom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Not anywhere near you
    I think your computer has a spy ware. Remove it using Ad-Aware. Mention the search site for further help.
     
  11. lavanjoy

    lavanjoy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    More replies from the forum memebrs and mods.But there is no reply from "senthilrek"
     
  12. OP
    OP
    senthilrek

    senthilrek New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    Than for ur replies. I have mentioned whether some one posts some replies mail me to my gmail address. Since gmail wasnt working in my system i was not able to see ur messages. Ok today i have logged directlty to thindigit forum. i happy to see a lot advices. i will try them today and i will give the feedback tommrow. Sorry for keeping u people waiting.

    Thanx
     
  13. tushar_novice

    tushar_novice New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saturn
    @ dexter. your sig is gr8. Wat else can M$ says when it knows no one is going to even look at IE now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page