Problem! Please help

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by senthilrek, Nov 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. senthilrek

    senthilrek New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    I have a problem in browsing internet. That is some basic sites like yahoo, google, gmail etc., are not opening , automatically it goes to a search page menting the domain is available for sale. It happens in both IE and Opera. I thought software would have been installed and i found many search softwares installed unknowlingly. So i removed all of them but i still have the problem. i dont know what to do? Kindly adviceme
     
  2. xenkatesh

    xenkatesh Bewitched!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    Try this go to the internet option in IE and set the home page to www.yahoo.com save it now check it again!!:)
     
  3. kl_ravi

    kl_ravi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ತುಮಕೂರು, ಕರ್ನಾಟಕ
  4. [deXter]

    [deXter] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    The easiest solution? Dont use IE. Switch to Firefox or Opera today! :)

    Download links in my signature..

    [​IMG]
    _________________
    Firefox
    Rediscover the web
     
  5. technoteen

    technoteen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagpur
    \

    m8 he already said that he is using opera and geeting the same problem

    it think you have spyware problem, use spybot or system mechanic
     
  6. [deXter]

    [deXter] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    whoops! My mistake :)
    ---


    senthilrek, please try CWShredder and see if that solves your problem.

    Then check your C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts file. Open it in notepad. Ignoring the '#' lines, there should only be one like like this: 127.0.0.1 localhost. If there are additional lines, delete them and add this.

    Now in both Opera and Ie, check your proxy server settings. Disable any proxy servers if used. In opera, Tools -> Quick Preferences-> Enable Proxy Servers (uncheck if checked).

    If all that doesnt work, then you'll need to download Spybot Search and Destroy like everyone says. Install, update scan and destroy :)

    [​IMG]
    _________________
    Firefox
    Rediscover the web
     
  7. ice

    ice New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Damn, i was about to tell him to check his host file and run cw shredder
     
  8. ujjwal

    ujjwal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could be the hosts file :) as DeXter says ... anyway on windows 98 the hosts file if present will be at C:\Windows and C:\WINNT\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\ETC for Win 2k ...

    If nothing works post your HijackThis logfile - http://www.spychecker.com/program/hijackthis.html
     
  9. ironcross77

    ironcross77 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
  10. sujithtom

    sujithtom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Not anywhere near you
    I think your computer has a spy ware. Remove it using Ad-Aware. Mention the search site for further help.
     
  11. lavanjoy

    lavanjoy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    More replies from the forum memebrs and mods.But there is no reply from "senthilrek"
     
  12. OP
    OP
    senthilrek

    senthilrek New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    Than for ur replies. I have mentioned whether some one posts some replies mail me to my gmail address. Since gmail wasnt working in my system i was not able to see ur messages. Ok today i have logged directlty to thindigit forum. i happy to see a lot advices. i will try them today and i will give the feedback tommrow. Sorry for keeping u people waiting.

    Thanx
     
  13. tushar_novice

    tushar_novice New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saturn
    @ dexter. your sig is gr8. Wat else can M$ says when it knows no one is going to even look at IE now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page