Problem configuring canon i255 printer

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by mehulved, Feb 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    I atlast got hold of drivers for my printer, Canon xnu i255. I just configured and started it. But, when I send test page to the printer I get the following error message
    Can anybody help me out here?
     
  2. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
  3. OP
    OP
    mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Maybe I have given wrong URI. Is there anyway to check which port is the printer connected to?
     
  4. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    If it is a USB printer then the command lsusb passed as root should show you the port the printer is connected to.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    It is detected by Ubuntu on parallel port 1. So, I did configure it right in Knoppix too. Now, in Ubuntu even after proper setup, it is shown as ready, whenever I give print a test page command, nothing happens at all. There is no response from the printer.
     
  6. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Upload your /etc/cups/printers.conf and /etc/cups/cupsd.conf some place. Also is the module for parallel port loaded? Check with lsmod and see if a module named "parport" is loaded or not.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    I did 'lsmod' and parport_pc is present.

     
  8. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Did it work in Knoppix? How many parallel ports do you have on your system? Do you have proper permissions on /dev/lp0? Change LogLevel in cupsd.conf to debug2 and then try printing again. After it fails, check in /var/log/cups/error_log to see what errors it gives.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    It doesn't work in either.
    I have only 1 parallel port on my computer.
    Yeah I have proper permissions.
    I will try what you've suggested and check.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Here the result of error_log
    If you can find anything do tell me. I can't understand if antything is going wrong.
     
  11. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    looks like you didn't restart cups after editing cupsd.conf. you need to do that.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Tried that but still no response from the printer.
     
  13. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    i meant that changing the LogLevel to debug2 will only work after you have restarted cups. Now there should be extra entries in error_log. I would like to see those entries. Also post the output of
    Code:
    ls -l /dev/lp0
    ls -l /dev/printers/0
     
  14. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    I searched for this printer and all the hits I am getting, tell me that this particular printer is a USB one. Are you sure it is connected to Parallel Port?
     
  15. OP
    OP
    mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    /dev/lp0 had permission or read and write and not execute. /dev/printer/0 or anything similar doesn't exist.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    All right then I will try to check every USB port. I can't check it physically as the back of my PC isn't reachable now.
     
  17. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Just turn on the printer and then pass the command lsusb. It should tell you the USB port, the printer is connected to. If Ubuntu is using udev then you can also launch udevmonitor in a terminal window and then start the printer. It will give you even more verbose output.
     
  18. OP
    OP
    mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    OK somehow the printer got autodetected now. Its on USB 1. Thanks a lot out there. I dunno why it wasn't detected at first. But, still whenever I give print a test page command, there's no response from the printer.
     
  19. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Did you change the URI? Time to post printers.conf and error_log again. Please don't attach them here. Instead upload them some place and then just link them here.
     
  20. OP
    OP
    mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page