Please suggest - Opensource / Free / Non-MS file sharing site

Status
Not open for further replies.

din

Tribal Boy
OK, this may sound strange, anyway here is the requirement.

The school in which I studied, the students are making a website (that of school). I went there once and gave them instructions, also asked them to develop fully in an Open source environment.

Actually it was not a way of forcing, as they are supposed to use only Linux and related softwares (all schools in Kerala use Linux now), that is the reason I asked them that. If I ask them to use Windows or Dreamweaver, they will have to use pirated.

Anyway they completed the site and it is good so far. I will be uploading it to a LAMP server soon.

Everything sounds ok so far but they asked me whether I will be able to upload a CD - That is a video file of their annual day / silver jubilee celebrations. Like 650 MB.

Not many people will be able to download it and not many people will be interested in that, but some of my friends who are abroad now, asked me to upload it somewhere and provide link in the school website. My idea is to split the file and upload to some free online storage site.

I was using Skydrive (Belongs to MS) and it was working fine for me. Download managers supported, simultaneous download allowed, no waiting time, no restrictions etc.

But on a second thought, I think it will not be nice using Skydrive. Reason being, the site will be inaugurated in a public function and the school is giving coverage like - Website fully developed using open source technologies. And the server is also opensource. Now if the video is with MS site, it may not be good.

What do you think ? Any alternatives for Skydrive ? I know other file sharing sites like RS, mediafire, etc. But any site that gives all options like SkyDrive ?

Please suggest

Thanks in advance.

QwertyManiac

Commander in Chief
I have not seen what SkyDrive has to offer but I know some good replacements to RS like: