PLEASE HELP ME with windows activation

Status
Not open for further replies.

RajU
I have recently bought a XPpro with SP2 OEM version. The problem is that I didn't got this CD with any PC manufaturer, I have bought the CD myself & now recently I heard that I can activate it only 3-4 times. Is it true? What to be done? PLEASE HELP ME for if it is true then my money will be lost. Please give me the full details.

janitha

Wise Old Owl
786 said:
I have recently bought a XPpro with SP2 OEM version. The problem is that I didn't got this CD with any PC manufaturer, I have bought the CD myself & now recently I heard that I can activate it only 3-4 times. Is it true? What to be done? PLEASE HELP ME for if it is true then my money will be lost. Please give me the full details.

You can very easily activate. I have been using XP Home OEM for the last 7 months. As long as there is no major hardware change, especially Mobo/Processor, you should not have any problem in re-activating. But if I remember correctly, for the first 120 days or so, there is some restriction, by way of the number of times you can do it. Even in such a situation, it should be possible to re-activate by calling the toll free number of MS.

Anyway there is no need to worry that your money will be lost.

sakumar79

Technomancer
Search the net for backing up of activation info. With this, when you reinstall the OS, you dont have to reactivate...

Arun

OP

RajU
If I change my graphics card what may then happen./ where to find backup?

Last edited:
OP

RajU
Who? don't ask,
microsoft customer care ------- they are all confusing me giving diff. replies....

Brave_Hunt

Journeyman
786, Don't listen 'em they're all morons. Just change your graphic card without any hesitation.

Cheers

Last edited:

janitha

Wise Old Owl
786 said:
If I change my graphics card what may then happen./ where to find backup?

Refer to the following link. It should give you the necessary info.