1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

PC restarts while booting.... plz help

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by iinfi, Mar 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iinfi

    iinfi mekalodu

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Navi Mumbai
    One fine day, two weeks back my PC started restarting while booting. The booting process continues till the Windows XP progressbar comes and then suddenly restarts. off and on i got a "disk boot error". Initially i thought my HDD had gone for a toss but it was not so. later i thought it was a problem with the power supply. and so i opened the cabinet and replugged the power cables of the HDDs (two HDDs). the fans seemed alright. after that everything seemed fine till tdy morning.

    after 2-3 attempts my PC has started and thus i m posting this here.
    can anyone help me with this. cud it be that my HDD is gone. or cud the boot sector have gone corrupt or is it a power supply issue.
    plz help.
     
  2. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the error suggests an MBR problem
    could be due to tht or a bad sector on the disk

    try replacin the MBR with the fixmbr command thru the installation disk
     
  3. devarajan

    devarajan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NEVER STOP'S....
    If u have problem in mbr mean the os will not boot u know that???He say's he can boot after 2r3 attempt's.If problem with MBR how dose it boot???Then how did u say problem in MBR????The problem is not with MBR.....
     
  4. OP
    OP
    iinfi

    iinfi mekalodu

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Navi Mumbai
    how do i use the command form the installation disk?
    i have winXP setup in the HDD and not in any CD :( and if i burn the setup in a CD the CD doesnt become a bootable CD :|
     
  5. devarajan

    devarajan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NEVER STOP'S....
    :p dude before buring the cd make the cd as iso image using nero and the save it.After then burn it (go with the option of disk saved image in nero express).If u do like these mean only u will get a bootable cd....If have copied the xp cd content in HD and burn mean u wont get the bootable cd.Any problem reply. :wink:
     
  6. OP
    OP
    iinfi

    iinfi mekalodu

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Navi Mumbai
    no sry. i dont have any source CD which has XP bootbale. the setup is jus in the HDD.
    ok thats secondary man. i need to fix this problem. the restarting problem. if it is not the problem with the MBR then what else could it be?
     
  7. devarajan

    devarajan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NEVER STOP'S....
    Ok.Better reinstall the os.Because disk boot error cannot be solved is suppose...To install the os follow these steps.

    Step 1:power on your system and press DEL key

    You will see a blue screen with some options on it in white. (you can only use your keyboard to navigate in this screen). Go to the Advanced Setup Options ---> then select Boot Priority ---> 1st Boot device to be Floppy drive , 2nd Boot device to be CD-Rom drive

    Step 2:Insert the Bootable DOS floppy in your Floppy Drive. Press F10 to save the bios settings and exit. (Your system will re-start automatically)

    Step 3: Let the Dos load from the floppy and A: shows up.

    Step 4: Change the Command prompt to HDD Drive letter, it will be D: or E in which u have Xp cd contenet.And type If xp content in d:under x folder mean.D:cd\x and press enter.

    Step 5: now type on the D:\ prompt -- setup.exe and press enter

    Step 6: follow the prompts there after.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    iinfi

    iinfi mekalodu

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Navi Mumbai
    hey man, i already have reinstalled the OS.
    thanks a million for your help. i jus wanted to know what exactly causedmy PC to restart while booting.

    thanks again
    and XP setup does not start with setup.exe command @ command prompt
     
  9. OP
    OP
    iinfi

    iinfi mekalodu

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Navi Mumbai
    when i started my PC today morning, the same thing happened. my PC restarted 3 times while booting and finally somehow Windows started.
    i had reinstalled windows yday. now what cud be the problem??
     
  10. devarajan

    devarajan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NEVER STOP'S....
    May be ur computer infected with virus :idea: Better delete all the partion and reinstall the os :idea: It may help u out.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    iinfi

    iinfi mekalodu

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Navi Mumbai
    does anyone else have any better soln? i dont wanna remove the partition and reinstall all programs again. earlier i had jus repaired the OS
     
  12. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^^^
    u say u are able to boot after 3 restarts
    then do a virus scan with max heuristics
    and if tht comes out clean, i suggest u do memcheck
     
  13. OP
    OP
    iinfi

    iinfi mekalodu

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Navi Mumbai
    whats memcheck??? is it a 3rd party utility????
    its not running in cmd prompt.... jus thougt it was a DOS command.
     
  14. nach p

    nach p New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mUMBAI
    have u installed any software before starting this problem ?
    If it is then just remove the software.Any particular soft may be causing problem ,because I faced same problem after installing Macafee.Just check it and also do system scan with antivirus and also try to scandisk.
    May be it can help you?
    Post u r reply.
     
  15. ::vicky::

    ::vicky:: New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    0X4B7H
    try to repartition ur hard drive
     
  16. OP
    OP
    iinfi

    iinfi mekalodu

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Navi Mumbai
    i have done virus checks and scandisks. but the issue is not resolved. i dont wanna format or repartition my HDD and reload all programs .... thats why i m keeping that as a last option. :)

    thanks for ur help guys.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    iinfi

    iinfi mekalodu

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Navi Mumbai
    sry for bumping up an old post.

    yday i formatted my HDD in which i had my OS installed. i have 2 HDD 20GB and 40GB.
    the OS was on the 20GB. i eve deleted the logical drive and made new partitions.

    and loaded the OS. today while booting PC restarted while booting (i.e. when the windows progress bar comes)
    same thing :(
    the thing doesnt happen when I hibernate and and start the PC or when I Start >> turn Off Computer >> restart. (it was jus the same previously also)

    why is this happening
     
  18. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This looks like some hardware conflict now. Did u have anything attached to the PC. It may be creating conflicts...
     
  19. OP
    OP
    iinfi

    iinfi mekalodu

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Navi Mumbai
    nope nothing
    my pc is the same as it was 2 years ago. sud i change the processor fan???
     
  20. OP
    OP
    iinfi

    iinfi mekalodu

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Navi Mumbai
    some of the scandisk results in my PC after formatting and reinstalling OS

    how come no one is able to get a soln for my issue ??? :(

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page