PC hangs while checking RAM & Gives Beep...... BeepBeepBeep!

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by Shailendra, Aug 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shailendra

    Shailendra New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Panvel
    Hi all,
    I have Desktop PC of following configuration
    266Mhz Celeron, RAM 128MB(133Mhz) + 32MB(66Mhz)
    Intel Chipset i440LX Motherboard, Intel i740 AGP Card With 8MB Video Ram, I am using this configuration for more than 2 years with out any problem.
    Some days back my PC hangs while checking RAM (power on self Test), I have tried restarting PC but dosent work. I have also noticed that my PC hangs at different points while power on self test (it dosent stuck at same location).
    I have tried changing banks of RAM, Pressed (to check for any loose contact).. After that there was No display !! I pressed AGP card..now there was a display but PC is not able to do complete Power on Self Test.

    Does Beep(followed by some delay).........BeepBeepBeep(no delay) mean there is no/loose diaplay/AGP card. ??

    I have tried almost one day!! working on my PC... :(

    I was not able to find any solution to above problem.. Pls help me to boot my PC...

    Thanks for any replies in advance

    Shailendra.
     
  2. demoninside

    demoninside New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dehradun
    first check ur RAM
    think ur RAM is dead
    long contineous beeps denots RAM error
     
  3. Byte

    Byte Ninja Jedi

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay
    Sounds like dead RAM. Apart from changing the banks did you try removing each module at a time? Also, mixing a 133 MHz module with a 66 MHz module is not a good idea at all.
     
  4. alib_i

    alib_i New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    omnipresent
    hapenned with me when my ram was loose ....

    so it seems urs is dead , if not loose !!
     
  5. techno_funky

    techno_funky da' Ťurntable ruleth

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mumbai
    happened with me just a week ago
    and i lost him omy i lost it
    MY RAM IS DEAD
    bohooooo
    ahem....
    ok
    yaa my ram gave up
    having a DINSOUR MOBO
    so had to blow a BIG hole in my wallet
    3200Rs for a 256mb SD RAM
     
  6. Amit Prabhu

    Amit Prabhu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mysore
    hey try removing the ram and put in another slot.. if still this problem then try getting a ram from ur friend and put it there.. if it works then problem with ur ram.. if it doesn't work then try putting ur ram in ur friends comp.. if it works there then problem with ur m/b..
     
  7. spykids_666

    spykids_666 Guest

    UR RAMS DEAD!!!!!
    UR RAMS DEAD!!!!!
    UR RAMS DEAD!!!!!

    THAT THE MEANING OF BEEP, BEEP, BEEP, BEEP IN THE COMPUTER LANGUAGE.

    R.I.P.
     
  8. djmykey

    djmykey Let the music play.....

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    Ur rams dead. Try it on a frens machine which takes the same freq ram. if it works then either the mobo is gone or cmos battery is gone or the cmos is. Dont go to the cmos try the ram first but take care that the machine accepts 133MHz ram otherwise itll not detect the ram. Prayin that ur ram shud be alive.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page