PC configuration between 15 to 20k

Discussion in 'PC Components / Configurations' started by kisorgovinda, Jul 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kisorgovinda

    kisorgovinda New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can anybody suggest me a PC configuration at price between 15 to 20k? The PC should be compatible with Windows 98SE. :?:
     
  2. rskbug

    rskbug New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    amd 3000+ venice & mobo asus A8NVM : 8400rs ( onboard 6100 not bad for occasional gaming@low settings )

    ram : 512mb 1900rs ( atleast hynix.. think transcend costs more...)
    atx : 800rs (with 350watt smps more than enough)

    mouse /kbd : 800rs logitech combo
    ups : intex 600va platinum 1500rs,
    monitor : samsung 15" 4000rs
    optical : dvd cd combo lg/lite on : 1400rs
    sata : 80gb sgt/western digital 2400rs (not sure)

    TOTAL : 20,400rs
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2006
  3. cyrux

    cyrux New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hyd
    The above mobo , i dont think its compatible with win 98...infact most of the mobos now a days arent...so guess you have to go with something thats old
     
  4. TechGuru#1

    TechGuru#1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Installing Win 98SE in a SATA HDD would b 1 Big problem!
     
  5. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Windows 98 wont work properly on any new PC. Probably you will have to buy a second hand PC for that. Why do you want to run windows 98 on it, any specific reason?
     
  6. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    Seemingly, it is obvious. He has to add another Rs.3500/- to the budget. IMO also, if he is particular about 98, it will be better and cheaper to go for a second hand PC.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    kisorgovinda

    kisorgovinda New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do some sort of programming in Fortran and GW Basic both of which work on DOS. I heard that the DOS under XP doesnot allow those compiler to run. Is it true?:?:
     
  8. OP
    OP
    kisorgovinda

    kisorgovinda New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Does amd processor support 8086/8088 assembly language? Hope it should not.:confused:
     
  9. Geforce

    Geforce New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    AMD Athlon64 is fully x86 architecture compatible not sure 'bout 8088.

    You could always run your programs in a virtual machine loaded with a DOS os in windows xp. It emulates an old hardware so shouldn't be a problem.

    You can even load win 98 easily on a virtual machine, and it will run FORTRAN and GW basic fine. I dont think you would be using assembly code in these languages, are you ? I yes then also i think it should work.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page