PAGE FILE SIZE

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by Neil, Sep 16, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Neil

    Neil New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    I have 512MB DDR 400 MHz Ram,80 GB HDD & a Geforce FX5200 128 MB. I wanted to know what should the size of my paging file be(Both initial & maximum size). I play games like Farcry,DOOM 3 etc.
    Also how many bytes should be locked for I/O ???
     
  2. pradeep_chauhan

    pradeep_chauhan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    The virtual memory should be set on the partition where the system files are not there ie not on C: drive. the size should be between 512Mb < and >1024Mb. I would recommend a fixed virtual mem file of 1024 Mb (that is what i am using with 512Mb RAM and I use VMware a lot it sucks up ram like anything thus forcing the win xp components to be paged out) .
    Also use a utility like xtweak to set a parameter which ensures that winxp kernel is never paged this gives a boost in performance.
     
  3. aadipa

    aadipa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palghar, Mumbai
    1024 MB on the partion that is not accessed for anything else
     
  4. ishaan

    ishaan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    wat happens if u set it to 256 - 1024 in the drive wich is used by everything else, as i hav not partitioned my hdd and only hav a C: ?
     
  5. Kl@w-24

    Kl@w-24 Slideshow Bob

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    @Neil, see ur previous posts before making a repeat posting.
     
  6. pradeep_chauhan

    pradeep_chauhan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    See as the saying goes "beggers cannot be choosers" if C is all you have set it to 1Gb on C: itself not a problem.
     
  7. ishaan

    ishaan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page