1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Outlook Express (WinXP SP1) Problem

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by contact_lalit, Aug 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. contact_lalit

    contact_lalit New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a system running Win XP with Service Pack1. Outlook Express is taking a long time to load. Also if I activate ZoneAlarm 5.0.590.015 then I am unable to download mail using Ourlook Express. I have to deactivate/unload ZoneAlarm to get mail. What can I do? Any suggestions?
     
  2. ice

    ice New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    U can get rid of zone alarm, dload sygate personal firewall. :p

    Im not sure, but somehow most people using zonealarm seem to have some problem or the other..

    Btw maybe, u need to configure ZA to allow OE access...
     
  3. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I am using ZoneAlaram in my two machines and both has OE. No problems at all!! Check out the settings in ZA. Don't give a blanket permission to outlook to access internet. Let it ask for your permission every time. That is what I do. I am somewhat paranoid about M$ products :roll: Slowly learning Linux. One day will make a final switch :D
     
  4. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Have you disabled the Messenger Service ..???
     
  5. OP
    OP
    contact_lalit

    contact_lalit New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have disable as well as uninstalled Messanger. Every time I use OE I shutdown ZoneAlarm and then only run OE. It really is a problem for me. BTW, why is OE taking such a long time to load (more than 120 seconds).
     
  6. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
  7. OP
    OP
    contact_lalit

    contact_lalit New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    U will try it tomorrow. BTW, what is your opinion about ZoneAlarm? I have always used and liked ZoneAlarm. In the new version 5 I have deactivated the Anti-Virus feature. Should I continue to use it? What other firewall (Freeware) is better?
     
  8. OP
    OP
    contact_lalit

    contact_lalit New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you "it_waaznt_me". Your solution worked.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page