Only 125 GB visible in 250 GB WD hard disk. pls help

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by ravi851981, Mar 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ravi851981

    ravi851981 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had recently purchased a new Western Digital 250GB SATA Hard disk and loaded Windows XP on it. I created four partitions with windows xp cd. But after installation I felt that partition was not done according to my need as one partition was too large. I then installed Partition Magic 7.0 and tried to redristribute the larger partition keeping in mind not to involve windows C: drive.

    Partition magic gave me a message than mor than 4 logical partition cannot be made so it will distribute the remaining space between the two drives D: and E: respectively.

    When I finished the command the Prtition magic showed some error messages and then suddenly a fatal exception error on a blue screen popped up and then I had to reboot the machine and the computer refused to start.

    So I inserted th WinXP cd and restarted the installation but surprisingly I saw on 125 GB of Hard disk with only C: Partition. I continued with the installation thinking that it may become visible after I start windows. But now I am seeing only 125 GB in every software and in the disk manager.

    My rescue disk were not properly made as my floppy drive failed.


    Please help me. How can I regain my half hard disk.
     
  2. hitman_never_dies

    hitman_never_dies New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    in agency
    Hey Dude

    This is a windows problem.reinstall ur windows again or install service pack 2.i also face this problem but i solve this by reinstalling windows.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    ravi851981

    ravi851981 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried it.....

    I tried it but still facing the same problem................
     
  4. rk

    rk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Partition Magic 7.0 is not capable for more than 120gb and sata
     
  5. Keith Sebastian

    Keith Sebastian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Doha, Qatar
    Have you tried the Disk Management utilities in Windows Xp Admin tools. I'm assuming you are with Win Xp Pro.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    ravi851981

    ravi851981 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Itried using disk management also in winxp Pro but all in vain.

    If Partition magic cannot handle sata or more than 120 gb data then how can I regain what is lost.


    Plssssssssssss helpppppppppppp.........
     
  7. kaustav_geek

    kaustav_geek 1337 |)00|) \m/

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cyber Space
    To ravi851981:

    Hey try this:
    Create a Windows98 DOS boot diskette from somewhere.Boot with this and run FDISK.From there you will get all the info about your current disk status.There you delete all your logical partitions and then the primary DOS partition.It takes a lot of time,but hey its worth it!

    Then you can use the WINDOWS XP BOOT CD to format and partition the disk as per your needs.This time be carefull and partition properly.Its better to use any Seagate partition utility.
    -Kaustav
     
  8. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    Try any latest Linux distribution and at the time of creating partition, select delete all partitions (or create manually if u r familiar with it!).

    I'm sure, linux will detect the whole size of ur HDD...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page