Not getting the full space of HDD

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by Sankalp, Jan 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sankalp

    Sankalp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Smewhere b/w heaven and hell
    I have a old hdd. It was a 40 GB pata. Now my lod pc supported upto 33 gb so i used to get 33 GB out of it only. But now when i connected it to my new pc it still shows 33 gb!!!

    Tried removin all the partitions but still shows 33 gb on my new pc.

    ne1 knows how 2 correct this prob????



    Athlon64 3000+, MSI K8N Neo Platinum (nforce 3), GeForce 5200 128MB, 512 MB RAM @ 400 MHz, 80 GB SATA, 40 GB HDD, LG writer 52X, Samsung DVD 16X, Samsung TFT 510n
     
  2. mangemayur

    mangemayur New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay
    Jumper problem... U might have Done the Jumper setting to clip upper or lower 32 GB for the OLD PC (the old pc never use to detect HDD above 32 GB)..
    This can be one of the reason
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Sankalp

    Sankalp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Smewhere b/w heaven and hell
    nope jumper setting is ok!

    and the old pc doent detect more than that space is also known to me

    I want to know is y isint the full space bein detected in my new pc
    :?:
     
  4. madman123

    madman123 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    I assume ur aware of the fact that the full capacity is never given, a 80gb also has only 72gb...but 7 gb less on a 40gb hd is not normal...there must be something with the windows that doesn't accept more..what windows are u running
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Sankalp

    Sankalp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Smewhere b/w heaven and hell
    i am aware of the fact that i wont get the full space because some of it is used by the file system

    I am havin a NTFS file system earlier it has FAT file system

    OS --> Windows XP

    the space i am talking about is the space shown by the pc while the HDD didnt have ne partitions in it!!!

    nemore solutions?????
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page